Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Special Collections Research Strategies: Start Here

The purpose of this guide is to assist students, faculty, and the general public in conducting research at the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at Syracuse University Library.

Welcome to the Special Collections Research Center

Images of materials housed in the Special Collections Research Center.

What is the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)?

SCRC maintains and provides access to distinguished collections of rare books, manuscripts, and other archival materials within Syracuse University Libraries. More than 100,000 printed works and 2,000 archival collections, including important editions, manuscripts, documents, letters, diaries, drawings, photographs, and memorabilia are available for research purposes to Syracuse University students, faculty, staff, and other scholars.

How can SCRC help me?

With a visit to our Reading Room on the 6th floor of Bird Library, the collections at SCRC can enable you to study primary sources of information, such as documents, letters, and drawings written or created by their original authors. Studying primary sources can greatly enhance research done through secondary sources, such as journal articles and general reference books. Please see our Visit Information page for more information about visiting.

How to Get Started

Make your research at SCRC easy. Begin with this page, then follow the tabs above to learn the best ways to conduct research and utilize the collections at SCRC. You can always Ask the SCRC Reference Librarian if you have specific questions about the collections or visit the Research Assistance page for other useful research tips.

Your Librarian

Nicole Westerdahl

Reference and Access Services Librarian,
Special Collections

Ask a question online

Created by:

This guide was created by Tessa Brawley, a 2010-2012 Library and Information Science graduate student at Syracuse University.