About SciFinder
SciFinder provides intuitive searching and easy access to research literature in chemistry and chemical engineering through Chemical Abstract's CAPLUS, CASREACT, and REGISTRY databases, and MEDLINE's biomedical database.
The web version of SciFinder works from off-campus and allows you to create search alerts and saved searches.
Download SciFinder Scholar
The desktop version of SciFinder Scholar has versions for Windows and Macintosh computers.
SciFinder includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, book reviews and biographical information. Comprehensive backfile to 1907; updated daily.
Bookmark this guide as http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/scifinder.![]()
Subject Coverage and Features
- Subject coverage includes chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, geochemistry, agricultural chemistry, biomedical and medicinal chemistry, biotechnology, materials science, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, environmental science and hazardous waste management.
- Search features allow users to search for information by reaction, polymer, biosequence, and by drawing chemical structures. SciFinder Scholar also provides browsable table of contents from over 1,500 core chemical journals and citation searching capabilities comparable to that of Science Citation Index.
- Links to online full-text articles are available for subscribed journal titles. (Check SUMMIT or the Full-Text Journal Locator to verify library subscriptions.) Coverage of patents from over 40 countries includes, in many cases, links to the full-text and and patent family information for equivalent and related patents.
SciFinder Databases
Bibliographic Databases
- CAplus is the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) literature database. With over 30 million bibliographic references, CAplus indexes more than 9,000 journals, patents, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from 1907-present. Updated daily.
- MEDLINE contains more than 18 million bibliographic references drawn from over 3900 journals. Coverage dates from 1949, making this version of MEDLINE even more comprehensive than that offered by the National Library of Medicine. Updated weekly.
Substance Databases
- CA Registry is an authority file of over 46 million chemical substances and 60 million biosequences. The Registry file can be searched by chemical structure, molecular formula, and chemical, common, and trade names. In addition, the Registry file contains experimental and calculated chemical property data such as solubility and pKa. Updated daily.
- CHEMLIST is a regulatory chemicals database of over 246,000 substances compiled from an extensive group of state, national, and international regulatory lists and inventories. Updated weekly.
- CHEMCATS is a database of current information on commercially available chemicals and their worldwide suppliers. The database includes 34 million products - with chemical and trade names, company names and addresses, and pricing terms - from over 900 suppliers and 1000 catalogs.
Reaction Database
- CASREACT is the CAS reaction database containing 17 million chemical reactions with coverage back to 1840. Updated weekly.
Comparison of SciFinder Scholar & SciFinder Web
SciFinder Scholar is the desktop version and is still probably the preferred product for on-campus users. However, SciFinder Web is closing the gap in terms of included features, has gotten a boost in speed of performance, allows users to save answer sets and receive search alerts, and, probably most importantly, can be accessed from off-campus.
The Chemistry Biology Pharmacy Information Center in Zurich has put together a detailed Comparison Chart of the features of each version. See also, the SciFinder Help page.
SciFinder Updates

Loading RSS Feed...




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait