Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Religion: Jewish Studies

Religion

Online Sources

Database: RAMBI Index of Articles on Judaic Studies

Description: RAMBI is a database that indexes articles on Jewish Studies. RAMBI allows you to search for Authors, Titles, Subjects and Keywords. Searches can be performed in English or Hebrew. If your computer supports Hebrew fonts you can toggle back and forth between languages by pressing Alt/Shift. Searches done in English will return results in Roman languages only. Searches done in Hebrew will return only Hebrew results. RAMBI is an index, not a full-text database.

On Religious Text

Tanakh : a new translation of the Holy Scriptures according to the traditional Hebrew text

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS896.A1 P45 1985


The Torah : a modern commentary

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS1225.3 .P55

American Judaism

The Cambridge companion to American Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM205 .C35 2005


The Columbia history of Jews and Judaism in America

Bird 3rd Floor - E184.35 .C65 2008


Contemporary American Judaism : transformation and renewal

Bird 2nd Floor - BM205 .K365 2009

General Reference

The Blackwell companion to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM42 .B54 2000


An introduction to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM562 .D378 2010


Judaism : the basics

Bird 2nd Floor - BM562 .N49 2006


Judaism and other religions : models of understanding

Bird 2nd Floor - BM534 .B75 2010


The new encyclopedia of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .E63 2002


New Testament Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM535 .D38 2000


Reader's guide to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .R43 2000


The Routledge dictionary of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM50 .N47 2004

History

Creating Judaism : history, tradition, practice

Bird 2nd Floor - BM45 .S226 2006


Historical dictionary of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .S65 2006


An introduction to early Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - DS121.65 .V36 2001


Jews and Judaism in world history

Bird 2nd Floor - DS117 .L87 2010


Judaism in practice : from the Middle Ages through the early modern period

Bird 2nd Floor - BM180 .J82 2001


Judaism of the Second Temple period

Bird 2nd Floor - BM176 .F5513 2007


The origins of Judaism : from Canaan to the rise of Islam

Bird 2nd Floor - BM155.3 .G65 2007

Jewish Life and Spirituality

Food and Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM710 .F62 2005


A glossary of Jewish life

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .O45 1992


Law, politics, and morality in Judaism

Bird 4th  Floor - KBM524.14 .L39 2006


The meanings of death in Rabbinic Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM635.4 .K73 2000


Mysticism in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam : searching for oneness

Bird 2nd Floor – BL625 .S63 2008


Spiritual dimensions of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM723 .K58 2003


Symbolic houses in Judaism : how objects and metaphors construct hybrid places of belonging

Bird 4th Floor - NA7110 .L57 2011


Women and Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor – BM729.W6 W657 2009


Women and Judaism : new insights and scholarship

Bird 2nd Floor – BM729.W6 W658 2009