Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks  Tags: refworks citations bibliography reference_management  

RefWorks is a web-based citation management system that allows you to save, store, and manage bibliographic citations, and also to generate bibliographies in over 300 different citation styles.
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/refworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Citation Styles

RefWorks and Write-N-Cite support a large number of citation styles beyond APA, Chicago, CSE, and MLA including styles specific to a variety of journals and organizations.

For more information about using citation styles correctly, check out the style guides available online and in print from from the Library.

 
 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a citation management system that allows you to save, store, and manage bibliographic citations, and also to generate bibliographies in over 300 different citation styles. RefWorks is available free to SU and ESF students and faculty through the SU Library subscription.

Most of our literature databases allow direct export of records into RefWorks, and because it is a web-based system, it is possible to link directly to the full text of any articles in your own RefWorks account if they are available online through the Library.

 

RefWorks training

Syracuse University Faculty may request RefWorks training for your classes using the TRAILS Instruction form or by contacting Tom KeaysESF Faculty should contact Linda Galloway.


     

    Extending RefWorks

    RefWorks has helper tools for using citations in papers, citing web pages, and sharing your citation lists.

    • Download Write-N-Cite  
      This is what allows RefWorks to connect with your Microsoft Word documents and format citations within your papers. To use Write-N-Cite with RefWorks you must download a small utility program to your computer. There are versions of Write-N-Cite for Windows and Macintosh computers.
    • Off-Campus Access Instructions  
      Use Write-N-Cite off-campus via your NetID login by doing a one-time configuration.
    • Install RefGrab-It  
      RefGrab-It works with your browser to capture bibliographic information from web pages giving you the option to import that data into your RefWorks account.
    • Share Your Citations With RefShare  
      RefShare allows you to share a read-only copy of your entire RefWorks database or specific folders with other researchers, on- or off-campus.
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait