Skip to main content

Reaxys: Home

Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.

What is Reaxys?

Reaxys merges the content from three major data sources:

Organic Content
The definitive source of information on the structures, reactions, and properties of organic carbon compounds, drawn from the journal literature back to the 18th century. More about content
Gmelin
The definitive source of information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds, drawn from the journal and patent literature back to the early 19th century. More about Gmelin
Patent Chemistry Database
A file of organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976- ). Additional historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files.

Chemistry resources

Overview

Reaxys highlights

Reaxys is designed by chemists for chemists and contains the most relevant reaction and substance data from journals and patent literature. Information on single- and multi-step reactions is deeply indexed and complemented by a synthesis planner to fulfil criteria applicable to a research chemist's needs.

  • Reaxys contains experimental reaction and substance data extracted from trusted literature dating back to 1771, not available elsewhere
  • Reaxys includes a synthesis planner allowing researchers to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate the most effective synthesis strategy.
  • It uses "chemistry as organizing principle": clearly laid out substance or reaction profiles reducing time to get to the relevant results.
  • Experimental procedure texts from patent literature reduce the ned to go to the original document
  • Intelligent filter and ranking tools allow researchers to find the "best" hits from this extensive source fast.
  • With Reaxys you can link directly to Scopus (cited-by information) and full-text documents (journals and patents) to enable further exploration of all the scientific literature 
  • Multiple formats allow to export results, merge with other data or share data with colleagues (DOC, PDF, XLS, SD, RD, RIS, EndNote/Reference Manager).
  • Commercial availabiltiy flags have direct links to chemical directories: synthesize or buy, whichever is more efficient.
  • Reaxys is web-based, intuitive, supports all major browsers and is easy to administer
  • It is offered via an institution-wide subscription rate with no user limits on access and no software to install

Subject Guide

Emily Hart's picture
Emily Hart