Skip to main content

Public Administration - Guide to Resources via Syracuse University Libraries

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for public administration

USA.GOV

USA.GOV: Official U.S. gateway to government information websites (links to local, state, federal and international agencies)

Open Government

Opensecrets.org
"Your guide to the money in American elections." Includes fund raising data, contributions by industry, useful issue profiles (e.g. managed care, gun control, campaign finance reform).
 

Govt Info - Local

Local/Municipal/County Level Government Sites (United States)

Syracuse, New York
Local city information.
Onondaga County
Local county information.
USA Citylink
Comprehensive list of links to U.S. states and cities.
International City/County Management Association
Information about the Association and its activities. Links to relevant sites.
National League of Cities
Information about the League. Links to resources of interest to local government officials.
National Civic League
Information about the League. Links to associated resources.
National Association of Towns and Townships
Information about the Association. Links to relevant resources.
Association of Towns of the State of New York
Association of towns within New York State.
Local Government Institute
Information about the Institute, a non-profit organization working to improve the quality of local government. Includes Local Government Job Net and links to government related sites.
National Association of Counties
Information about the Association. Links to county government resources.
State, Local and Tribal Governments (USA.gov)
Designed to give those interested in state, local and tribal government officials or agencies easy access to federal information.
Maps Online-Syracuse and Onondaga County
An Internet based Geographical Information System (GIS) helpful for mapping out local community resources, organizations, etc.  A project of Syracuse Community Geography, this mapping tool is related to themes that include local economic development, social justice and healthcare inequalities.   For example, one can use this tool to plot out map layers that include locations of food pantries, child care centers, superfund sites, schools, bus routes, zoning and land use categories, population totals, median ages, median incomes, educational attainment, racial composition and more

Govt Info - State

State Level Government Sites (United States)

New York State Government Information Locator Service
Great links to NYS government information.
New York State Data Center
Provides access to statistical series for and about New York State's population and economy.
Council of State Governments
Information about the Council. Links to state government resources.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Information about the organization. Links to state legislatures, etc.
National Governors' Association
Information on state governors and the work of the bipartisan Association.
State and Local Government on the Net
Links to sites by state; links to multi-state sites; links to other relevant sites.

Govt Info - Federal

Federal Level Government Sites (United States)
 

FDsys 
"Federal Digital System," provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

Library of Congress
Library of Congress resources including American Memory project, exhibitions, and copyright information.

Congress.gov
U.S. Congress; good for legislative information (e.g., bills, Congressional Record).

White House
Executive Branch information.

Senate
Legislative activities, committees, senators.

House of Representatives
Legislative process, legislators, laws (e.g., U.S. Code).

Oyez
Multimedia database about the United States Supreme Court.

The Federal Judiciary
Information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

U.S. Bureau of the Census
Great for statistical information.

Fedstats
Provides access to statistics produced by U.S. federal government agencies for public use.

The National Security Archive
Independent, nongovernmental, nonprofit research institute and library serving as a clearinghouse of declassified U.S. documents.

Govt Info - International

10 Downing Street
Biographies, speeches, press releases.

Armed Services Committee (U.S. Senate)
Homepage

Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (U.S. Department of Homeland Security)
Homepage (formerly known as: Immigration and Naturalization Service)

Central Intelligence Agency (U.S.)
Homepage

Department of Defense (U.S.)
Homepage

Department of Homeland Security (U.S.)
Homepage

Department of State (U.S.)
Homepage

DirectGov (UK)
United Kingdom public sector information

Official Documents from the UK Stationery Office
Many links to full-text documents.

EUROPA
Home page of the European Union.

Foreign Relations Committee (U.S. Senate)
Homepage

How Parliament Works
Brief guide to the history, role and procedure of the UK Parliament.

International Relations Committee (U.S. House of Representatives)
Homepage

International Trade Administration (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Homepage

National Security Council (U.S.)
Homepage-National Security Council

Organization of American States (OAS)
Accessible in both English and Spanish. Provides information about both the OAS itself and its individual member states.

United Nations
Home page of the United Nations.

United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Overview of the types of documents and publications issued by the UN and guide to their use.

United States Intelligence Community
Portal site to all primary government agencies that carry out the intelligence activities of the U.S. government (e.g., CIA, FBI, etc.)

WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
Good links to sites of other countries and their governments.