Skip to main content

Psychology: Find Articles

Tools for Conducting Research

Find Articles

The resources on this page should help you get started finding the primary literature published in scholarly journals and conference publications using authoritative research databases. 

Watch for the SULinks icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

Additional Databases

The complete list of databases can be found at:
Databases A-Z

Core literature databases for Psychology

Our most comprehensive index to Psychology literature:

  • PsycINFO
    International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics. 1887 - present; updated monthly. 
  • PsycARTICLES
    Provides full text access, citations and abstracts to articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage for most journals begins with 1985, others have only more recent years.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals.

  • Tests in Print
    Comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.  TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). 

  • CogNet
    Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.

  • PsychiatryOnline
    PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. It includes numerous textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, and self-assessment tools, as well as clinical and research news and medication information handouts.

  • Scopus
    The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Includes the complete contents of Medline. From 1960, but records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications for all types of literature.

  • PubMed
    From the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database provides access to over 18 million citations from MEDLINE as well as other life sciences journals.  Coverage goes back to 1948.


General Full Text Resources

For both popular and scholarly articles, you can try a general/interdisciplinary database like:

  • Wilson OmniFile Select
    Provides full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the the majority of our Wilson periodical databases.
  • ProQuest
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. 

These resources search a variety of databases and reference sources to return a wide spectrum of scholarly and popular material.

Multimedia

Counseling and Therapy in Video
A collection of over 350 videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatric counseling.