Skip to main content

Public Relations Resources

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for public relations

  Market/Industry Research - Additional Core Databases

Those researching advertising topics may benefit from review of one or more these various business oriented resources and publications. The focus here is on learning more about specific industries and markets:

 

Business Insights:  Essentials - Database for researching all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry ratings, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.  Formerly known as "Business & Company Resource Center."

IBIS World - Industry Market Research International   - Business reports with an industry overview focus, including extensive discussion of that industry's competitive landscape, major companies, key statistics and the like.

Marketresearch.com Academic - Market research reports covering the following industries and categories: business services, consumer goods, food and beverage, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media.

Mergent Intellect - Provides access to information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry, this resource includes and greatly expands content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.

Mergent Online  - Financial reports for publicly traded U.S. companies and data on more than 17,000 non U.S. companies as well.

Mintel Reports - Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.

MRI - Data from national surveys of U.S. consumers. Variables cover numerous consumer demographic categories, product usage, leisure activities, and exposure of those market segments to different genres and branded titles of websites, television programs and magazines. University Reporter data is drawn from GfK MRI’s “Survey of the American Consumer,” but excludes survey response data on consumer attitudes (psychographics). Researchers seeking consumer opinion data can consider use of other databases, such as SIMMONS OneView, eMarketer or Mintel Reports.

Plunkett Research Online - Takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.

Tablebase - TableBase records are drawn from more than 1000 sources in the Business & Industry database and from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports and provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics.

If researching 'private' companies - see also:

New at SU since 2014 - eMarketer

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more.  The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews.  Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis.  Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year.   Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Reports

In addition to powerful market research databases like Mintel and MarketResearch.com Academic, SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from publisher Richard K. Miller & Associates. These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include:

  • Entertainment, Media and Advertising
  • Consumer Behavior
  • International Consumer Markets
  • Health Care Business Market
  • Leisure Market Research
  • Restaurant Food & Beverage Market
  • Sports Marketing
  • Travel & Tourism Market Research

SRDS Media Solutions

SimplyAnalytics