Skip to main content

Public Relations Resources

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for public relations

Scholarly Encyclopedia

Physical Book Locations @ Syracuse

Circulating books on public relations reside primarily on Bird Library’s 3rd Floor {Call numbers beginning with HD 59}.  An additional grouping of public relations book titles are located on Bird Library's 4th Floor {Call numbers beginning with HM 251 and higher, "social psychology" call numbers}.  Other locations may also hold titles of interest.  For example, titles with a technology focus may be at the Carnegie Library; titles with a primary focus on PR and politics may be adjacent to political science related titles, and so on.  Titles covering media studies, broadcasting and journalism are located on Bird Library's 5th Floor.

  • SUMMON:  A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries' collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries.  Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more.  Use for searching for articles.  Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.
     
  • Classic Catalog:  A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.  Search by keyword, author, title, subject heading, or call number.

More eBooks...

Want to browse or search all ebook collection of the SU Libraries?

 

Visit the SU Libraries subject guide for ebooks

OR

After getting search results in SUMMON - apply a content refinement called "book/ebook" - in addition to the refinement labeled - "items with full text online"

Summon search results showing search refinements applied

Books 24x7 - Business Topics

Books twenty four seven business topics ebooks collection search interface

 

Books 24x7 is an extensive collection of full-length electronic books - that includes a category for business topics.    From the main interface, select "business topics" from the menu.  Thousand of titles are available from publishers like AMACOM, Jossey-Bass, Harvard University Press, M.I.T. Press and more - covering areas that include but are not limited to:

  • Business Analysis
  • Finance & Accounting
  • International Business
  • Technology in Business
  • Social Media
  • Human Resources
  • Public Administration
  • Management & Leadership

Books 24x7 ebook collections outside of business also offer thousands of titles on subjects such as Information Technology (e.g., countless titles helpful for those looking to enhance knowledge and skills with specific software), Desktop Video, Engineering, Government Affairs and more.

    Reference Books

A small cross section of reference books pertinent to communications studies available at Syracuse University Libraries.  This is just a sampling.  For reference and circulating books on a specific topic, search the SU Libraries Classic Catalog or SUMMON search engine: 

Advertising || Broadcasting/Broadcast Journalism || Magazine and Newspaper Journalism || Public Relations || Research Methods & Theory

 

 

Advertising
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5803 A38 2003
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns/Thomas Riggs
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5837 E53 2000
Marketing Scales Handbooks
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5415.3 B785

 

Broadcasting/Broadcast Journalism

Biographical Encyclopedia of American Radio/Christopher H. Sterling, editor. 2011
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8698 B56
Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics, media, and communications / Marcel Danesi. 2000
Entertainment Awards:  A Music, Cinema, Theatre and Broadcasting Guide/Don Franks. 2005

Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 2270 A93 F68 2005
Public Opinion and Polling Around the World; A Historical Encyclopedia/John G. Geer, editor. 2004

Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM1236 P83 2004
Television & Cable Factbook
Library storage facility (does not circulate) TK6540 T4531
library retains latest two editions. for review on-site at Bird library, see classic catalog item record for "request" instructions
The Television industry : market-by-market review / National Association of Broadcasters
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8700.8 T415

TV Dimensions/Media Dynamics
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8700.8 T917
World Radio TV Handbook
Carnegie Library, Reference, (does not circulate) TK 6540 W67
library retains latest two editions

 

Magazine and Newspaper Journalism
American Datelines: Major News Stories from Colonial Times to the Present/edited by Ed Cray, Jonathan Kotler, Miles Beller. 2003.
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4726 A48 2003
American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: A Compilation of Information for  Freelancers From More Than 1500 Magazine Editors and Book Publishers/compiled by Brigette M. Phillips, Susan D. Klassen and Doris Hall. 2005
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 147 A479 2005
American Literary Magazines: The Twentieth Century/Edward E. Chielens
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PS 221 P45 A44 1992
American Mass Market Magazines
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4877 A48 1990
Dictionary of media and communications / Marcel Danesi
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 87.5 D359
Editor & Publisher Newspaper Databook /Duncan McIntosh Company
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4700 E42
Gebbie Press all-in-one directory/Gebbie Press
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 88.8 G4

History of American Magazines, 1741-1930/Frank Luther Mott
[electronic book]
Magazine Writer's Handbook/Gordon Wells & Chris McCallum. 2001
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 147 W46 2001
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory [online database]
Willing's Press Guide/Willing Service
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) Z6956 E5 W5
Writer's Market/latest edition in general reference
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN161 W83

 

Public Relations
Encyclopedia of Public Relations/Robert L. Heath (2005, 1st edition)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HD 59 E48 2005 || See also the ebook:
Encyclopedia of Public Relations/ Robert L. Heath - Sage Publications (2013, 2nd edition)
O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms/J.R. O'Dwyer Co.
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM263 O37
PR News Top 100 Case Studies in PR/PR News Press for Access Intelligence
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM 1221 P7 vol 2 (2005/6) - vol 3 (2007)
PR Week Contact/Haymarket Media
free online directory

 

Research Methods & Theory


Encyclopedia of communication and information / edited by Jorge Reina Schement (MacMillan, 2002)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 87.5 E53
Encyclopedia of communication theory / Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors (Sage, 2009)

Encyclopedia of international media and communications / editor-in-chief, Donald H. Johnston (Academic Press, 2003)

Mass Communication Research Methods/Sage (4 vols.)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 91.3 M366 2009**
21st century communication : a reference handbook / edited by William F. Eadie (Sage, 2009)

**search the subject phrase mass media research methodology in either the classic catalog or SUMMON to identify additional titles, most available for borrowing.

Google Scholar

Many researchers use free tools like Google Scholar (GS) to identify helpful books or journal articles. Check SU Libraries Classic Catalog and/or Journal Locator for availability at Syracuse.