Skip to main content

Political Science - Research Guide

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for political science

Free Web Sites

 

AidData 
(Founded as a partnership between Development Gateway, William & Mary University & Brigham Young University)

Database for global development finance & foreign aid data and analysis, containing development projects financed by dozens of donors, with coverage dating back to 1945. Now an independent research lab at William & Mary.  Supplements and descriptively expands upon information available via OECD's Creditor Reporting System.

American Presidency Project
Links to over 75,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes some audio and video files.

American President
Non-partisan site from University of Virginia's Miller Center for Public Affairs that explores the history and functions of the US Presidency, past and present.

Annenberg Political FactCheck
Describes itself as a nonpartisan nonprofit that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. Politics. Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.

 

Bipartisan Policy Center
Founded by a group of former Senator Majority Leaders, the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) is a nonprofit think tank that promotes itself as an advocate for the types of solutions and policy recommendations that can come from bipartisan collaboration.  The projects and research in which the BPC is actively involved focus on addressing many of the major public policy issues of today, incorporating the opinions and contributions of key figures from both ends of the Democratic and Republican spectrum.

Campaign Finance Institute
A non-partisan, non-profit institute, affiliated with George Washington University, that conducts objective research and education, empanels task forces, and makes recommendations for policy change in the field of campaign finance. 

ElectionGuide
"Upcoming dates, information and results for elections around the world."

electionline.org
A project funded by the Pew Charitable Trusts,  this nonpartisan, non-advocacy website provides news and analysis on election reform.  Hosted by the Program for Excellence in Election Administration, University of  Minnesota - Humphrey School of Public Affairs.

History Channel.Com
Use the search box here to retrieve historical discussion or online audio and video about a person, organization, event, social movement, country name, etc.  Alternatively, add the phrase "speeches and audio" to that search to retrieve sound recordings and videos of numerous famous speeches addressing government, diplomacy, etc.


Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
Illustrated and annotated edition of all inaugural addresses from George Washington to George W. Bush (Bartleby.Com).

Kaiser Health News
Nonprofit news organization committed to in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics.
 
 

MAPLight.org
A public database that attempts to illuminate the connection between campaign donations and legislative votes.
 

A New Nation Votes
A searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy.  The data was compiled by Philip Lampi and was mounted online by The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives.

OACIS for the Middle East
"Online Access to Consolidated Information on Serials"--A union catalog of Middle Eastern serial publications compiled by Yale University Library and partner institutions. The aim is to improve access to a wide variety of journal literature that addresses the Middle East.

openDemocracy
UK educational not-for-profit offering articles, blogs, forums, podcasts on global current affairs.
 

Opensecrets.org
"Your guide to the money in American elections." Includes fund raising data, contributions by industry, useful issue profiles (e.g. managed care, gun control, campaign finance reform).

PolicyArchive
A project of The Center for Governmental Studies and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Library, this digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research contains over 30,000 documents.

Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC)
From the University of Maryland's Center for Political Communication and Civic Leadership.  Analyzes  television ads - primarily from national political campaigns.

 

Propublica 
Independent Nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.,

 

Political Party Websites (US)

 

 

Democratic National Committee
Republican National Committee
Green Party
Libertarian Party
Natural Law Party
Reform Party 
Tea Party Patriots 
 

Project Vote Smart
Provides factual information about candidates and elected officials: biographical, positions on issues, voting records, campaign finances and ratings by interest groups.

Ultimate Political Science Links
A useful set of links from P.S. Ruckman, Jr. of Rock Valley College.

Yahoo
Yahoo's politics index.

 

 

Professional Organizations

American Political Science Assoc
Home page of APSA (American Political Science Association). 

APSA Public Policy Section
Home page of the Section. 

Organizations in Political Science
Links to state, national, and international associations and related organizations.

Careers/Employment

American and Comparative Politics Job Blog

USAJobs
Official job site of the United States Federal Government.

Government Information

LOCAL/MUNICIPAL/COUNTY

Syracuse, New York

Onondaga County
Local county information.

USA Citylink
Comprehensive list of links to U.S. states and cities.

International City/County Management Association
Information about the Association and its activities. Links to relevant sites.

National League of Cities
Information about the League. Links to resources of interest to local government officials.

National Civic League
Information about the League. Links to associated resources.

Association of Towns of the State of New York
Association of towns within New York State.

Local Government Institute
Information about the Institute, a non-profit organization working to improve the quality of local government. Includes Local Government Job Net and links to government related sites.

Alliance for Innovation
A partnership of The Innovation Groups, ICMA, and Arizona State University, it aims to bring professionals, local governments, academics, and private sector partners together to discover and apply the best ideas, practices and solutions to the challenges confronting local government and communities.

National Association of Counties
Information about the Association. Links to county government resources.

State, Local and Tribal Governments (USA.gov)
Designed to give those interested in state, local and tribal government officials or agencies easy access to federal information.

United States Conference of Mayors
The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official non-partisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are 1,408 such cities in the country today. Each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor.

 

 

STATE

New York State Government Information Locator Service
Great links to NYS government information.

New York State Data Center
Provides access to statistical series for and about New York State's population and economy.

Council of State Governments
Information about the Council. Links to state government resources.

National Conference of State Legislatures
Information about the organization. Links to state legislatures, etc.

National Governors' Association
Information on state governors and the work of the bipartisan Association.

Stateline.org
Developed by the Pew Charitable Trusts.  Offers daily state news, state elections guide, state news grouped by issue (e.g., environment, healthcare, transportation), etc.

 

FEDERAL

FDsys
"Federal Digital System," provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

Library of Congress
Library of Congress resources including American Memory project, exhibitions, and copyright information.

Congress.gov
U.S. Congress; good for legislative information (e.g., bills, Congressional Record).

White House
Executive Branch information.

Senate
Legislative activities, committees, senators.

House of Representatives
Legislative process, legislators, laws (e.g., U.S. Code).

U.S. Congress Votes Database
From the Washington Post.  Allows you to browse every vote in the U.S. Congress since 1991.

Supreme Court of the United States
Home page with links to recent decisions

Oyez
Multimedia database about the United States Supreme Court.

The Federal Judiciary
Information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

U.S. Bureau of the Census
Great for statistical information.

Fedstats
Provides access to statistics produced by U.S. federal government agencies for public use.

USA.gov
The official U.S. gateway to all government information.

The National Security Archive
Independent, nongovernmental, nonprofit research institute and library serving as a clearinghouse of declassified U.S. documents.

 

 
 

INTERNATIONAL

10 Downing Street
Biographies, speeches, press releases.

DirectGov (UK)
United Kingdom public sector information.

How Parliament Works
Brief guide to history and procedures of the U.K. Parliament.

Official Documents from the UK Stationery Office
Many links to full-text documents.

EUROPA
Home page of the European Union.

Organization of American States (OAS)
Accessible in English, Spanish, French and Portuguese. Provides information about both the OAS itself and its individual member states.

Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)
The homepage of the IPU, an international organization of the Parliaments of sovereign States, established in 1889.  The Union is the focal point for world-wide parliamentary dialogue and works for peace and co-operation among peoples and for the firm establishment of representative democracy.

United Nations
Home page of the United Nations.

United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Overview of the types of documents and publications issued by the UN and guide to their use.

WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
Good links to sites of other countries and their governments.

Discussion Groups

H-POL
Scholarly discussion of American political history.