Skip to main content

Political Science - Research Guide

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for political science

Online Reference Books

Below is a brief list of some of the electronically available reference books in the field of political science.  For more, search the CREDOreference or Oxford Reference Online databases.

Specific Online Reference Book Titles

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science [CREDOreference]
Provides an introduction to the terminology of political science. Has definitions and explanations of around 1000 key terms and includes short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline.

 

Dictionary of Government and Politics [CREDOreference]
Covers terms commonly used in the United States and Great Britain.

 

A Dictionary of Political Biography [Oxford Reference Online]
Covers the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century.

 

Europa World [Taylor & Francis]
Full text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories. Also covers numerous international organizations and features a search engine for generating comparative multinational statistics.

 

Leadership Library on the Internet [Leadership Directories, Inc.]
Online version of the 14 Leadership directory yellow books: Congressional yellow book, Federal yellow book, State yellow book, Municipal yellow book, Federal regional yellow book, Judicial yellow book, Corporate yellow book, Financial yellow book, News media yellow book, Associations yellow book, Law firms yellow book, Government affairs yellow book, Foreign representatives yellow book, and: Nonprofit sector yellow book.

 

The Oxford Companion to American Law [Oxford Reference Online]
Entries cover the law's role, state and local law and legal institutions, American law in a comparative international perspective, etc.

 

The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World [Oxford Reference Online]
Includes essays on critical issues as well as entries on people, concepts, and events.

 

The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States [Oxford Reference Online]
Offers entries on key cases and areas of constitutional law such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused.

 

The Oxford Guide to the United States Government [Oxford Reference Online]
Contains a wealth of information on the American Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court.

 

Political Reference Suite [Congressional Quarterly]
Enables searching multiple political sources at once. It includes Congress and the Nation (1945-present), Historic Documents (1972-present), Supreme Court Yearbook (1990-present), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory.

 

 

Online Social & Behavioral Sciences Encyclopedia