Maxwell Community Benchmarks Program
Visit CNY Vitals - The community indicators website that hosts data gathered, organized and reported in connection with this PAF 410.2 course.
Here's a link to the full subject menu of all SU Library subscription databases.
SU Library Starting Points
Syracuse University Library offers subscription databases and other online guides that students in PAF 410 may find helpful. Visit links on this page and those appearing under the other menu bar categories above.
These are meant to supplement, not replace, additional sources traditionally used in PAF 410 for gathering community indicator information for Onondaga County and comparable jurisdictions.
The public affairs/political science librarian welcomes your suggestions for resources you'd like to see on this guide.
Mapping Data BEST BETS
Policy Map (The Reinvestment Fund)
Simply Map (Geographic Research, Inc.)
Geographic Information Systems (SU Map Librarian Subject Guide)
Syracuse University Library Map Librarian, John Olson, maintains extensive online subject guidance on "GIS" - ("Geographic Information Systems"). Via some of these sources, including the GIS software and mapping capabilities available at E.S. Bird Library's 3rd Floor - Geographic and Statistical Information Center - students in PAF 410 may be able to uncover additional data points of interest, and/or map these data points. NOTE: Use of GIS involves a learning curve for first time users. Visit John's site for details, or contact John for additional information on options for in-depth training in GIS technology. GIS is used by many government agencies.
In the words of the host of this web-based data tool, "Our objective is to help visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Our primary functions include Demographic Data Analysis, Interactive Map/Report Design and Software Development. Our main goal is to visually display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. since 1790 through the present, for the country overall and down to the level of the county. For more recent years, one can display areas as small as your own neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. To do this we have developed a collection of interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried and manipulated on our site."
Want Help Using Policy Map?
Visit a copy of TRF's "Policy Map Primer" - for additional instructions on using the various features within Policy Map
Want Help Using Simply Map?
Here's a brief guide introducing the Simply Map database
Access World News database includes an archive of full text articles from the Syracuse Post-Standard (1986 - present), Syracuse Herald Journal (1986 - 2001), and Syracuse Herald American (1986 - 2001). The Syracuse Herald Journal and Herald American ceased publication in 2001. Note: Database coverage includes all three Syracuse Newspapers instead of only the Post Standard as indicated on some of the database's search screens.