Skip to main content

New York Times

A Syracuse University Libraries guide to options for students, staff and faculty for access to current and historical New York Times content at Syracuse University.

New York Times - Campus Readership Program at Syracuse University

  • The Campus Readership Program provides the SU community with daily free copies of the New York Times and USA Today print newspapers at dozens of locations around campus
     

  • Through this program SU students, staff and faculty also have access, using their syr email address, to daily “digital passes” to the online NY Times website and archive
     

    • Passes give registered readers-viewers 24 hours of unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes.com smartphone apps.

    • After that 24 hours expires, that passworded access “seat” becomes available for a new user.

    • NYTimes bases the number of passes available on the average number of copies of the NY Times the campus purchases per day (e.g., well exceeding 300 passworded seats per day)
       

The program is administered by the SU Student Association and the Office of Student Activities (within the Division of Student Affairs)

 

 New York Times Newspaper Mastheads
 Pam Thomas/Syracuse University Libraries

 

 

New York Times - Digital Subscription Discounts For Individuals

Visit NYT's website for information about discounted rates for individual subscription access to the New York Times - Digital.  Within that site, for specific details regarding discounts applicable to SU students and faculty, visit the subscriptions/subscribe now link pertinent to  "Education Rates." 

 
Although subject to change, as of October 2016 - New York Times is reporting these "Education Rate" discounts for Basic Digital Access (includes unlimited access to NYTimes.com and the NY Times smartphone and tablet apps):

  • Students - $4 delivers four weeks of online access.  Subscription will continue until you cancel.
  • Faculty - $5 for initial four weeks, then $7.50 every four weeks thereafter.  Subscription will continue until you cancel. 

[rates are discounted from NYT's regular, non-education basic digital rate of four weeks at $15]   
 

When evaluating personal digital subscription options, regarding archival access to NY Times newspaper back issue articles, which date back to 1851 - Syracuse University students, staff and faculty should take note those archival back issues are available (without need for personal subscription) via the SU Libraries subscription to the databases Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, and via ProQuest.

numbered library newspaper sticks

Michael Pasqualoni, Subject Specialist Librarian for Communications and Public Affairs, Syracuse University Libraries

Quick Links to Databases Containing New York Times articles

These databases offer access to major article content (and sometimes page images) from the current and historical New York Times newspaper - NOT the content presently delivered via the NYT web site (at times identical articles may appear in both places).

Browsing To Specific NYT Back Issues

News databases offer advanced search features where search results can be limited so only New York Times results display.  Proquest databases  - offer user friendly browsing to a back issue(s) of the New York Times newspaper for a specific publication date(s).  See screen shots below.  Click on a screen shot to enter each database.

 

Once inside ProQuest News & Newspapers database - if wishing to "browse" to specific back issues, instead of searching keywords, click on the publications link to browse to a specifically dated NYT newspaper back issue(s). 1980-current

ProQuest News and Newspapers Database Interface

 

Once inside Proquest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times database - click on the publications link to browse to a specifically dated NYT newspaper back issue(s). 1851-to within 3 to 4 years of the current date

 

 

Search The Library's Catalog for Newspaper Titles

New York Times on Microfilm

Proquest Digital Microfilm Search InterfaceA Typical Roll of Microfilm

Note - There is a one to two month time lag between date of publication and availability via digital microfilm.  For access to article text from those very recent newspaper back issues, consult other newspaper databases SU Libraries offers, such as ProQuest News & Newspapers.

2008 - within 1 to 2 months of current date (online):  Proquest Digital Microfilm offers online access to full page image scans of its newspaper content (including photos, charts, advertising, etc. often excluded from article coverage available in other databases).

1857 - 2011 (offline microfilm):  Extensive historical back issue article coverage of the New York Times print newspaper (not the NYT digital news) is also available from SU Libraries via traditional microfilm.  For a date(s) of interest, request desired reels falling under Microfilm # 96, using the "request this item" link embedded on the SU Libraries Classic Catalog item record for New York Times (Microform).  Microfilm is housed at the Library's storage facility.   Viewer/reader/printer machines (including the ability to create digital copies of pages) are available on Bird Library's 3rd floor.  Print copies of recent issues are retained at Bird Library's 2nd Floor - Current Periodicals area, until microfilm arrives for those dates.

More Newspaper Databases

Want to explore other SU Libraries news databases? Visit the Library's: