Skip to main content

SOC 300 - New York City in the 21st Century (Fall 2017): Journal & Newspaper Articles

Types of Periodical Articles

How to find Journal Articles

 Databases

These are electronic indexes that you can search to locate journal articles, books, and book chapters. To access any of the databases from off campus, you will be prompted for your NETID and password. For additional assistance with this, please go to the instructions for remote access to databases.

 
Recommended Databases:

You can Start Here with Databases:

 

Proquest - A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas.
 

Social Sciences Full Text - Index with abstracts in sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.

 

Other relevant databases by type:

General:

JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.

Scopus - Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage includes Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature.


Newspapers:

Access World News
- Full-text content of local and regional, and international newspapers.
 

Library Press Display - Library Press Display provides full page image access to over 240 newspapers representing more than 50 countries.
 

New York State Newspapers - Full text access to 9 newspapers from New York State, including the Buffalo News, New York Times, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, the Syracuse Post Standard and the Utica Observer-Dispatch.
 

Proquest Newsstream - covers over 1300 major newspapers, news websites and blogs including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.

 

Subject Specific:

ERIC - Index and abstracts of educational materials available since 1966.

Ethnic NewsWatch - Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

GenderWatch - Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

PAIS International  -Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.

PsychInfo - International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics.
 

Race Relations Abstracts - Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
 

Sociological Abstracts - Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and dissertations covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences from over 3000 sources. Covers 1963 to the present; updated six times per year.