Skip to main content

Finding out about "The New Journalism": Home

About this Guide

This guide contains resources that will help you gather background information and find scholarship about the people, publications, and publishers involved with the New Journalism during the Victorian Period.

Resources

BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Victorian Literature
This bibliography covers Victorian media in general & features specific resources focused on The New Journalism. Copy interesting book and article titles and paste them into SUMMON to locate the items in our library.

Dictionary of National Biography
Entries on lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. Search on peoples' names for individual entries.

Credo Reference
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in a number on dozens of topics and subjects. Search names or people here for relevant entries.
 

BOOKS, BOOK CHAPTERS, & JOURNAL ARTICLES
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
This database contains citations from books, book chapters, and articles (some in full text) with scholarship on Victorian culture and the New Journalism. Use "new journalism" (in quotes) or the names of people, periodicals or publishers to locate relevant items. Click SULinks to locate the full text of articles, or search SUMMON for books and book chapters. Many books are available as e-books. 


Project Muse
This database contains many journals on Victorian Culture. Use "new journalism" (in quotes) or the names of people, periodicals or publishers to locate relevant. All articles will be available in full text within Project Muse.

 


HISTORICAL RESOURCES
Bibliography of English and Irish History
Use this resource to find citations to articles on English history; make sure to set the date period so results relevant to the particular historical context will be retrieved.

Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Historical scholarship on the Victorian period-- make sure to include Victorian in your search queries; this database contains lots of material dealing with the late 20th Century new journalism movement as well.