Skip to main content

ETS 153 Serialization Assignment: Longman's Magazine (Spring 2017): Home

About this Guide

This guide will help you to locate the issues of Longman's Magazine (in which Walter Besant’s Children of Gibeon), was serialized. You will use these issues to analyze the relationship of Children of Gibeon to the other articles and material, its historical moment and its publication context. It is separated into three sections:


If you have questions or problems using these resources, you can contact me directly:

Patrick Williams
315.443.9520
jpwill03@syr.edu

Finding Issues of Longman's Magazine

We have access to the full contents of Longman's Magazine via a database called British Periodicals, which provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution page images.

Find Full Issues of Longman's Magazine

Longman's Magazine Cover

You can browse the entire contents of *just* Longman's Magazine on this page in the database. You'll see a listing of all available issues if you scroll down. Clicking on an issue will list all of the contents of that issue (around 40-50 items) in page order.

Longman's Magazine landing page in British Periodicals

 

Find the Serialized Portions of Children of Gibeon & the issues featuring them

Children of Gibeon was published in installments between January and December of 1886, so you can click through the years to those specific issues to read the contents of each.

Additionally, if you'd like to see each of the serialized portions of Children of Gibeon by pasting the following query into the British Periodicals search box:
ti(children of gibeon) AND pub(longman's magazine, 1882-1905)

This, of course gives you a listing of all of chapters only. You can see the other items in that particular issue by clicking on the *issue number* on those pages. Clicking on an issue will list all of the contents of that issue (around 40-50 items) in page order.

where to click on the issue number

 

Searching for keywords within particular issues of Longman's Magazine

Once you have arrived at a list of search results for a particular issue, you can search the full contents of only that issue by scrolling to the bottom of the search results page and entering keywords into the "Search Within" box:

"search within" box

 

Saving and Citing the Items You Will Analyze

When you are on the British Periodical page for the items you're interested, you can use the email/cite features to make sure you have a copy of the item and the proper information you need to cite those items in your works cited page.  Click on "Email" in the upper right hand part of the page.

Then you will be presented with a form to email the pdf of the item to yourself and to include an MLA-formatted citation (you must select the style).

 

Finding Additional Historical Materials

Search the full text of 200 years' worth of the Times of London. Since this is a huge amount of material, you may want to restrict your search terms to just article titles and citation information.
 
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.
 
British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images (this is what we worked in for Longman's Magazine, but there are hundreds of other contemporary publications).

Recommended Databases for Additional Context and Historical Research

REFERENCE & ADDITIONAL CONTEXTUAL SOURCES

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Provides an extensive annotated bibliography to Victorian Literature which can help to inform you on potential topics and point you to strong sources.

 

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in English-language literature and criticism with entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of

Bibliography of English and Irish History
Use this resource to find citations to articles on English history; make sure to set the date period so results relevant to the particular historical context will be retrieved.

 

CRITICISM

MLA Bibliography
Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Literature Online (LION)

Full-text of more than 350,000 works of creative writing, literary nonfiction, and literary criticism. Searchable by author, title, genre, movement, school, and period.  Includes original texts, criticism, and multimedia content.