Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Mobile Research at SUL: Home

About

A guide to mobile library research apps available to Syracuse University students and faculty.

Widget

Resource List

Library Mobile Site on an iPhone

Connect to SU Library Mobile Website

  • Library catalog and mobile databases
  • Library hours and events
  • Library locations
  • Floor maps of Bird Library
  • Staff directory
  • Research assistance

APA Journals

APA Logo     APA App on an iPhone

Download free from iTunes   

Provided via RSS feed are article titles and abstracts for all journals available in APA's PsycARTICLES database. Browse/search current issues.

ARTstor

ArtStor LogoArtStor on an iPhone

Connect to ARTStor Mobile

Browse by collection, classification, geography. Open and view previously assembled groups of images. Use the flashcard view to study or quiz yourself. Enlarge, rotate, or open attached image data.

Assess note:You must connect to the Library's ARTStor subscription from a desktop computer and register for a free username/password.  Then use that username/password to login to ARTStor Mobile.  

Technical Help: Accessing ARTStor Mobile

Britannica Mobile

Cambridge Journals Online

Cambridge logoCJO on an iPhone

Connect to CJO Mobile

Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) for smartphones and other small mobile devices.

EBSCOhost Mobile 2.0

EbscoHost mobile logo Ebscohost Mobile on an iPhone

Connect to Ebscohost Mobile

Basic Searching, HTML and PDF Full Text -Search Modes, Limiters, Image Quick View, Image Collection (depending on the  database that has been selected) , E-mailing articles, Preferences.

Technical Help: EBSCOhost Mobile Frequently Asked Questions

Gale AccessMyLibrary College Edition

AML Logo AML on an iPhone

Download free from iTunes

Search Gale databases in Arts, Biography, Business, Communications, General Reference, Health, History, Hobbies, Law, Literature, Newspapers, Science, and Technology.

Access Notes: Choose Syracuse University Library from the alphabetical list, then login using your SU email address.  Gale will send you a password for use on the mobile site.

NAXOS Music Library

NML LogoNML on an iPhone

Download free from iTunes

To generate a login for the NML app, you should:

1. Visit the NML page for the Syracuse University Library subscription on a desktop computer.

2. Navigate to the Playlist area and click the Naxos Music Library Playlists tab.

3. Click “Sign Up” in the "Personal/Student" playlist account area.

4. Create a login on the sign up page. This login, consisting of your email address and a custom password, then becomes your login for the app.

PubMed for Handhelds

PubMed LogoPubMed on an iPhone

Connect to PubMed for Handhelds

Provides a simplified mobile friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed Mobile includes the same basic search functionality and content as Standard PubMed; that is, all search terms and fields work similarly.

SciFinder Mobile

SciFinder logoSciFinder on an iPhone

Connect to SciFinder Mobile

Access Notes:  You must first visit the Syracuse University Library Scifinder site and register for a username and password. You will be asked to confirm your registration via email before it becomes active.

WorldCat Mobile

WorldCat logoWorldCat on an iPhone

Connect to WorldCat Mobile

  • Find a WorldCat library near you: Enter your ZIP, postal code or location in the Libraries Locator
  • Call a library: Highlight and click the phone number in a library listing to place a call
  • Map a route: Find the fastest way to a WorldCat library using the mapping software already on your device

Questions?

Questions? Comments?

Contact Pamela Thomas, Learning Commons

Subject Guide

Pamela Thomas
Contact:
039-B Bird Library
315.443.3911
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Reviews