This is the "Home" page of the "Historical and Cultural Artifacts for Midnight's Children" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Historical and Cultural Artifacts for Midnight's Children  

For Professor Klaver's ETS 242, Fall 2011
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/midnightschildren Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

This guide will point you to some historical and cultural materials related to the times and events in Rushdie's Midnight's Children. Use the links below to explore the different types of material available on this page. If you have questions, please contact Patrick (information in the column on the right).

Print Materials in the Library Collection

Primary Documents and Film

Other Electronic Collections

 

Print Materials in the Collection

Books and journals on India are located in the DS 400 section of Bird Library's second floor. Below are a few historical titles which feature images, news, and other cultural information from the Twentieth Century in India. Browse the stacks for more. 

The Times of India annual
Colorful, illustrated annual news summaries from the Times of India. Available for 1928, 1934, 1937-1938, 1949-1966, 1970-1973, 1975, 1977-1979.
Bird-2nd Floor: OVERSIZE DS401 .T55

Hindustan Yearbook & Who's Who
1962-1992
Bird-2nd Floor: DS401 .H5

Indrama Magazine
1981 - 1993
Bird-2nd Floor: DS414.2 .I53

Items on India from the India Office Library
MICROFILM 1619
Media Storage-Request at Service Desk (
Don't be scared! Microfillm is easy to use. Just watch this guy do it on YouTube.)

 

Primary Documents and Film

Materials in this list are available electronically-- the first two items are SU Library-licensed databases, and the films from Archive.org are freely available online. Search Archive.org for more images and videos.

Empire Online
Search for India and limit to 20th Century for relevant primary documents in this British historical collection. Covers up to 1969.

India, Raj, and Empire
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.

From Archive.org's Cultural and Academic Film series:

Watson Kintner's mid-century films of India
Filmmaker Watson Kintner traveled to India in the 1950s and shot dozens of short films documenting the cultural and historical landscape of the country.

India (circa 1930)

Fifteen Minutes in India - National Security Council (1947-1981)

 

Other Electronic Collections

These links point you to additional India-related archives, collections, and guides online.

The Digital South Asia Archive
Images from the collections of the University of Chicago.

South Asia Resource Access on the Internet Culture of South Asia - Past and Present
Links to online collections and exhibits focused on South Asia.

SU South Asia Center @ Maxwell Media Library

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Patrick Williams
Contact Info
210 E.S. Bird Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244
315-443-9520
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip