Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Home

Syracuse University Libraries' Website

Start your research at the Syracuse University Libraries' website.  From here you can: search for books, videos, databases that offer access to journal and newspaper articles, electronic sources, multimedia and web links. 

Start with the Libraries' Research Assistance page to begin your research strategy, to get help with Libraries' collections, and for advanced research tips and tools.

Latino/Latin American Studies at Syracuse University

Using This Guide

This guide will direct you to sources housed within the Syracuse University Libraries, including books, journals, databases, specialized library collections, and links to websites and other electronic resources on Latin American Studies in general or specific regions such as the Caribbean in particular. The guide is organized into the following set of pages (which you can see listed in tabs above).

Books
Access to library resources available in print, including books, and reference materials such as encyclopedias.

Databases
Listing of databases that the Libraries subscribe to or that is available through open access from the Internet, that will offer access to journal articles, statistics or other source in Latin American Studies.

Journals
Offers access to the journals that the Libraries subscribe to, electronic as well as in print that cover Latin American Studies.

Dissertations
Databases that are devoted to finding dissertations, and a brief list of SU dissertations on Latin American Studies available electronically. 

Maps, Atlases, Statistics
Offers a taste of the maps, atlases from  the Libraries' collection on Latin American Studies.

Videos/DVD's
This page lists some videos that the Libraries own on Latin American and the Caribbean. It also describes directions for accessing the Video/DVD's as well as their usage policies.

Interlibrary Loan
How to get materials that the Syracuse University Libraries do not own.

News Links
News sources and Latin American news databases that SU Libraries subscribe to.

Web Links
Links to Professional Associations, Career information, research institutes and government information.

Primary Sources
Manuscripts and printed materials on Latin America held in SU Libraries' Special Collections Research Center as well as links to other primary sources.

PLACA
Links to the Program on Latin American and the Caribbean (PLACA) through the Maxwell School's Moynihan Institute of Global Affairs.

ASK US! Syracuse University Librarians

For research assistance in areas related to Latin American Studies, contact one of our subject specialist librarians.

African Diaspora, Anthropology, Sociology:
Bonnie Ryan

Geography & Maps:
John Olson

History:
Lydia Wasylenko

International Relations:
Michael Pasqualoni

Linguistics:
Patrick Williams

Spanish Language & Literature:
Ann Skiold


 

SU Subject Librarians

There are Subject Librarians at SU who can assist you with your research and who are available during office hours, via email and by appointment.