Skip to main content

Kenya National Archives: Microfilm description and numbers

The Kenya National Archives is a collection of documents of the Kenyan government during the colonial period to independence.

Microfilm and reel numbers

The list below include entries of microfilm collections covering the Kenyan Archives owned by the Syracuse University Libraries.

The list comprises broad document titles, the microfilm numbers, and the reel numbers as they are shelved in the Library's microfilm collection, currently housed on the 3rd floor of Bird Library. Please note that the microfilm reels are not shelved as described in the Guide, so it would be best for a researcher to check the list below by description/title of the document, to find the actual microfilm and reel number.

Example: Nandi Political Record Book (according to the Guide - PRB/176 NAN/5).  Checking the list below, Political Record Books are shelved under Microfilm number 2802.

 

Description Microfilm Number Reel Numbers
Advertiser/Globetrotter/Nairobi News
2079
001
Al-Islah, Mombasa
2075
001
Amani Records
2071
001-007
Annual & Quarterly Reports  (AR) (Provincial and District)
2801
001-066
Annual Reports
4723
001-088, 125-127, 133-134
Asian Records in Kenya. Miscellaneous
2174
001-014
Baraza
2284
001-002
Binns, H.K. Journals & Photo Albums
2234
001-002
Capricorn Society Papers
2162
001-002
Catalog of Records. Kenya Central Government
2822
001-003
Central Province. Daily Correspondence
4751
001-091
Coast Province. 2nd Series. Daily Correspondence
4750
221-370
Daily Chronicle
2048
001-016
EAHC Dept.
5228
001-026,034-060,065-078, 082-084,086-116
East African Indian National Congress Records
1929
001-036
East African Standard, 1906-1968
1627
001-279
Federation Indian Chamber of Commerce/East Africa Records
1923
001-003
Gazettes
4723
089-124, 128-132
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Annual Rep. of the Colonies
2216
001
Gr. Brit. Pub. Rec. - Kenya  1916-1923, Original correspondence
2814
001
Handing Over Reports
2803
001-014
Independent. Nairobi weekly
2074
001-013
Indian Association of Mombasa. Documents and Correspondence, 1924-1969
1926
001-015
Indian Association. Kisumu . Records
2232
001-004
Indian Congress Supplemental Records
2087
001-003
Intelligence Reports
2805
001-012
Kenya Colony - Land Comm. - Evidence/Memo
1524
001-003
Kenya Colony Off. Gazette  1949-1961
943
001-016
Kenya Church Review   
2076
001-003
Kenya Daily Mail , 1927-1964
2283
001-069
Kenya Observer
2078
001-003
Kenya Weekly News  1928-1969
1920
001-080
Labour Commission, 1912-1913
2811
001
Land Commission Papers
1925
001-013
Legislative Council Debates
2806
001-033
Local Authority Records
2246
001-102
Miscellaneous Correspondence
2804
001-011
Mombasa. Indian Merchants Chamber. Documents & Correspondence
1922
001-003
Nairobi. Central Chamber of Commerce. Docs. & Corr.
1924
001-006
New Series. Indigenous tribes & their customs
2081
001-002
New Series. Mombasa Social Survey Pts. I & II
2081
012
New Series. Indian Association. Nakuru. Records
2081
024-029
New Series
Blue Books - Reels 12-22 
2081
001-051
Northeast Province. Daily Correspondence
4753
001-046
Nyanza Province Log Books
2153
001
Nyanza Province. Sec. 10. Daily Correspondence
2800
050-387
Nyanza Province. Sec. 10-A. Daily Correspondence
2262
001-036
Nyanza Province. Sec. 10-B. Daily Correspondence
1949
001-049
Nyanza Times
2077
001
Political Record books
2802
001-016
Provincial & District Catalogs
1940
001-002
Public Record Office. Annual Indexes to the original correspondence, Kenya, 1905-1938; Original Correspondence ; (CO533 & CO628)
2260
 
Annual Indexes
2260
001-026

Original Correspondence

2260
001-554
Rift Valley Province. Daily Correspondence
4752
001-061
Secretariat Circulars
2807
001-005
Seyidie (Coast) Province. Daily Correspondence
1995
001-220