Skip to main content

Kenya National Archives: National Archives of other African nations

The Kenya National Archives is a collection of documents of the Kenyan government during the colonial period to independence.

Bibliographic Guides in Print

Bibliographic Guides in Print

Ghana
Survey of research materials in the National Archives of Ghana 1974.
Location: Bird Library, 2nd Floor Call Number: CD2353 .D85

 

Kenya
Syracuse University Library is the only Library in the United States besides the Center for Research Library (CRL) that houses the microfilm collection of the Kenya National Archives up to the mid 1960's.

Click on the tabs in the gray area above, particularly the "Home" page of this website for more information about accessing the Kenya National Archives collections at Syracuse University.

Rhodesia

Guide to the historical manuscripts in the National Archives of Rhodesia. 1970.
Location: Bird Library, 2nd Floor Call Number: CD2434 .N37 1970

Tanzania
Das Deutsch-Ostafrika-Archiv; Inventar der Abteilung German Records im Nationalarchiv der Vereinigten Republik Tansania, Dar-es-Salaam
, 1973.
Location: Bird Library, 2nd Floor Call Number: CD2491 .T36 G47 1973 vols. 1,2

Zambia
Guide to the public archives of Zambia.
1970.
Location: Bird Library, 2nd Floor Call Number: CD2491 .Z3 G7


National Archives of African Nations

Besides the Kenya National Archives, Syracuse University Libraries also has includes archival materials from other African nations available on microfilm. The table on this page is arranged alphabetically by country and gives the microfilm reel numbers. 

Microfilm Collection of other African Nations

Microfilm Collection

(arranged alphabetically by title, then microfilm reel number).

Microfilm collections are housed in the Bird Library, on the 3rd floor.  Collections are shelved by the reel numbers. Please don't hesitate to ask for help at the service desk on the 3rd floor:

 

TITLE
Microfilm Reel Number
A
Advertiser of E. Africa
2079
Africa
4773
Africa Special Studies
4775
Africa Uganda 1948-1959
5861
Africa Tanzania 1948-1967
5862
African v.1-6
5255
Africa's Luminary
2958
L''Afrique Exploree/Civilisee
1980
Agricultural J. of Brit. E. Africa 
2080
Akademiia, Nauk SSR.         
2253
Akademiia, Nauk SSR
2254
Akademiia, Nauk SSR.
2255
Akademiia, Nauk SSR
2256
Akademiia, Nauk SSR
2257
Akademiia, Nauk SSR
2258
Akademiia, Nauk SSR
2259
Anglo-African Magazine
1987
Appraisal of African  (Clough)
4403
Application of Radio in Comm. Ed.  Ethiop.  (Inquai)
2620
Arab Power in Tanganyika  (Bennett)
4399
Aspects of the Swahili  (Scorfton)
4392
B
Books and Per. Relating to E. Africa
2073
Books/Pamphlets on East Africa
1921
Britain and Basutoland  (Cassidy)
4406
C
Central African Federation  (Dvorin)
1914
A Change Process Model  (Provo)
4448
Characteristics…Materials…Comm Dev. Egypt  (Habib)
1079
Christianity in Nigeria  (Nwarbara)
442
CIA Research Reports - Africa
4774
Classification of Folktales  (Arewa)
4398
Cocoa in Western Nigeria  (Berry)
4386
Coffee Production in Kenya  (Maitha)
4441
Colonial Policy in Kenya  1952-1963  (Crowley)
1775
Colonial Protectorate
5914
Colonization and Exploration of Africa
5451
Conc. Scheme in Afr. Pol. Sys.  (Marvin)  
1032
D
Dept. of State/..Brit. Africa 1910-1929
1081
Diamond Mines of S. Afr.  (Williams)
1852
Diffusion of Hybrid  (Gerhart)
4402
E
E. Africa Economic review
4532
E. Africa High Commission
2304
E. Africa Natural History Society
2229
E. African Swahili Committee
2144
East Africa Indian Nat. Congress
1929
East African Pamphlets
1013
East African Standard  1906-1968
1627
East African Tatler - Kenya/Uganda
              1927
Ecology of W. Masailand  (Talbot)
4435
Economic Change in Luoland  (Hay)
4407
Ed. Change in Sierra Leone  (Coleson)
4035
L'Education Africaine
2252
Egypte, Nubie, Palestine, Syria  (Ducamp)
744
Ethiopia - 2nd 5 Year Development
2826
Ethnohistorical Study  (Jackson)
4394
F
Factors Development Central Africa  (Morgan)
1913
Farm Radio Project - Ghana  (Abell)
2774
Fed. Nigeria Off. Gazette  1958-1961
941
Fed. of Indian Chambers - E. Afr. Records
1923
Friends Africa Industrial Mission
1825
Functions of the Forces  (Jordan)
4444
G
Gazette for Zanzibar & E. Africa
4914
Geo. Factors - Change - Pop. In Uganda  (MacIver)

1904

Ghana Gazette Accra 1957-1961
1733
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Annual Rep. of the Colonies - Kenya Reports 2216
Gr. Brit. Pub. Rec. - Kenya  1916-1923
2814
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Zululand/Natal…
2815
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. N. Rhodesia/Ayasaland
2817
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Uganda
2818
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Seychelles/Zanzibar
2819
Gr. Brit. Colonial Off. Mauritius
2820
Gr. Brit. Public Records Office. Ann Indexes; Original Corres. C.O. 533
2260
H
Habari
2082
Harvard African Expedition
2056
Higher Ed. in Agri. in Ethiopia  (Belay)

3059

Historical Society of Ghana Transactions
4510
History of Ankole  (Morris)
1907
History of Egypt  (Rappoport)
1787
History of the War in S. Africa  (Maurice)
1865
I
Independent Comment - Nairobi
5921
Impact of WWII on Kenya  (Shiroya)
4411
Inland Africa
4533
Interdependency and Conflict  (Lancaster)         
4445
Interviews - Njombe Dist. Tanzania  (Graham)

1939

An Investigation of Verbal  (Eastman)

4396

J
Journal of an Expedition to the Niger  (Gander)

1864

K
Kenya:  1900-1930  (Okumu)
4412
Kenya Church Review
2076
Kenya Colony - Land Comm. - Evidence/Memo
1524
Kenya Colony Off. Gazette  1949-1961
943
Kenya Daily Mail
2283
Kenya EAHC Dept.
5228
Kenya Gov't Pubs.
4723
Kenya India Congress
2087
Kenya Land Commission Papers
1925
Kenya National Archive , Nyanza Province Log Books
2153
Kenya Nat. Arch. Catalog, Provincial & District
1940
Kenya National Archives Catalogs

2822

Kenya National Archives, (Annual Reports Provincial and District)
2081
Kenya National Archives - Nyanza
2800
Kenya National Archives - Reports
2801
Kenya National Archives -Pol. Records
2802
Kenya National Archives - Handing Over Rpts.
2803
Kenya National Archives - Misc. Corres.
2804
Kenya National Archives - Intelligence Rpts.

2805

Kenya National Archives - Legislative…
2806
Kenya National Archives - Secretariat…
2807
Kenya Nat. Arch. - Ind. Assoc. Mombasa

1926

Kenya Observer
2078
Kenya Reports

2245

Kenya Weekly News  1928-1969
1920
Kinship/Property…Jie Hurkana  (Culliver)
1911
Kisumu
2232
Kitara Complex  (Buchanan)
4442
L
Land and Nationalism  (Wa-Githumo)
4393
Lands of the Slave and the Free  (Murray)
1962
Leader of British E. Africa
2069
Lothagam  (Robbins)
4446
M
Mau Mau  (Barnett)
4395
Mombasa - Indian Merchants Chamber…

1922

Morning Post  1961-1969  Nigeria
1665
Muslim Women in Mombasa  (Strobel)
4387
N
NADA  (Rhodesia)
2194
Nairobi Cent. Chamber of Commerce
1924
Nairobi City Council  (Werlin)
4429
Nation Building in Kenya  (Waiguchu)
4388
National Archives Coast Province
4750
National Archives Central Province
4751
National Archives Rift Valley

4752

National Archives N.E. Province
4753
National Archives - Nyanza Province
2262
Nat. Arch. Nyanza  10-B
1949
Native Policy in S. Rhodesia  (Duignan)
4447
New Nigerian-Kaduna  1966-1969

1748

Nigerian Daily Sketch Inbandan  1965-1969
1749
N. Rhodesia Gvt. Gazette Lusaka  1957-1961
1735
N. Rhodesia Reports
2215
Nyasaland
2281
Nyasaland Agriculture

2231, 2233

Nyasaland Gvt. Gazette  1956-1961
944
Nyasaland Migrant Labour  (Sanderson)
1912
Nyanza Times
2077
O
Official Gazette 1957-1961 E. Afr.
1732
Ostafrikanische Wandertage  (Weishaupt)
1414
P
Pakot (Suk) of Kenya  (Scheider)
4397
Pastoral Ministry Melif Churches  (Abesamis)
1915
Planning/Implementation of Agri. Nigeria  (Janelin)
2991
Political and Economic  (Ylvisaker)
4405
Political History of the Bemba  (Roberts)
4408
Political Recruitment in Kenya  (Rouyer)
4427
Policies/Progress in Afr. Edu…Kenya  (Sheffield)
1247

Politics And Communication In The New States:

              Burma And Ghana  (Fagen)
560
Preach the Word  (Solis)
1918
Proceedings…Missionary Soc. For Afr.   1801-1921
1660
R
Relationship of the African  (Gration) 4409
Reports of the Military Gov.  1945-1953 5452
Revue de Madagascar 2228
Revolution in Buganda  (Rowe) 4404
Rhodesia 2279

N. Rhodesia Gvt. Gazette Lusaka  1957-1961

1735

S. Rhodesia Gvt. Gazette Salisbury  1957-1960

1734
Role of Nigerian Univ. in Adu. Ed.  (Nwokorie) 3056
Royal Society of South Africa 2227
Rural Church of the P.I. Fed. of Churches  (Ferrer) 1916
Rural Dev. in Meru, Kenya  (Almy) 4436
Rural Health Services in Kenya  (Alger) 4410
S
Slave Trade 5453, 2059
Slavery/Slave Trade in Africa  1893 1961
Slavery + 4 Years of War  1900  (Keifer)       1959
Social Control Among Gulsii (LeVine) 1906
Social Org. of the Somali  (Lewis) 1909
Social Study of the Bantu People  (Cunnison) 1910
Socio-economic Conditions in Balingasag… 1919
Socio-Cultural Problems/Afri….U.A.R.  (Abdel) 2777
Some Contemporary Inter.  (Buttimer) 4428
South Africa 2250
So. African Native Affairs Comm. Rpt. 1942
S. Rhodesia Gvt. Gazette Salisbury  1957-1960 1734
Southern Abuluyia  (Kay) 4415
Story of Africa/Explorers  (Brown) 1957
Study Pot. Geog. of Br. E. Afr.  (Morgan) 1903
Sudan Notes + Records              1952
T
Tanganyika Gov't Pubs. 4734
Tanganyika - Orig. Corresp.  1916-1940 1928
Tanzania - Provincial/Dist. Books 1543
Through the Dark Continent  (Stanley) 1963
Trade and Politics   (Druidson) 4400
Transportation and Agricultural  (Birdsall) 4443
Travels in So. Africa  1803-1806  (Lichstenstein) 1958
U
Uganda Gov't Pub. 5229
Uganda Official Gazette  1958-1961 942
Uganda - Orig. Corres  1905-1940 1917
Uganda Protectorate Comm.  1914-1932 2813
V
Voice of Ethiopia  vols. 1-35 5340
W
West Africa 2280
White Settlers  (Remole) 1905
Works - Edward W. Blyden 1908
Z
Zambesi Mission - Life/Work in C. Afr.         2041