Skip to main content

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Resources @ Syracuse University Libraries

SU Libraries' recommended research starting points for Newhouse School students and faculty

Newspaper Databases

numbered newspaper sticks

The vast majority of the Library's subscribed news article content is delivered using various online databases.  Visit the:

SU Libraries Newspaper Databases Subject Guide

Circulation Data

New York Times - Campus Readership Program at Syracuse University

  • The Campus Readership Program provides the SU community with daily free copies of the New York Times and USA Today print newspapers at dozens of locations around campus
     

  • Through this program SU students, staff and faculty also have access, using their syr email address, to daily “digital passes” to the online NY Times website and archive
     

    • Passes give registered readers-viewers 24 hours of unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes.com smartphone apps.

    • After that 24 hours expires, that passworded access “seat” becomes available for a new user.

    • NYTimes bases the number of passes available on the average number of copies of the NY Times the campus purchases per day (e.g., well exceeding 300 passworded seats per day)
       

The program is administered by the SU Student Association and the Office of Student Activities (within the Division of Student Affairs)

 

 New York Times Newspaper Mastheads
 Pam Thomas/Syracuse University Libraries

 

 

New York Times?

New York Times newspaper mastheads

Syracuse University students and faculty have access to a number of indexes and full-text article databases that include New York Times coverage, including:

ProQuest (1980- present)
*Also includes coverage back to the 19th Century via Proquest's historical newspapers collections

Proquest Digital Microfilm (2008 - current)*
*Contains page images typically excluded from many other databases (including photos, charts, advertising, etc.).  One to two month lag between publication dates and availability on microfilm.  For article content within those recent timeframes, consult other databases (e.g., Proquest Central or Nexis Uni, etc.)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times

For more options, or to learn about access to the New York Times and New York Times Online for Syracuse University affiliated users see the New York Times Subject Guide.

Who Needs Newspapers?

As described on their website, "“ Who Needs Newspapers? ” (WNN) is a national project designed to create a dynamic database, assembled on a website, which aims to tell the story of leading community newspapers throughout the United States, by highlighting outstanding community newspapers in each of the 50 states.

 

Newspapers (Print Editions) @ Bird Library

These are U.S. newspapers currently received in print format that are available for browsing in the current periodicals, 2nd floor at Bird Library. SU Libraries also offers extensive online database access to hundreds of domestic and international newspapers. 

Holdings and location information for the title of a specific newspaper of interest can be determined by entering that title into the SU Libraries journal locator and/or classic catalog.  Alternatively, if looking for a specific online news database (e.g., Lexis Nexis Academic)-visit the Databases A-Z list

 

Barron's (New York, NY)
http://online.barrons.com
recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area

Financial Times (North American Edition)
http://www.ft.com
recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area

New York Times (New York, NY)
http://www.nytimes.com
Library has 1857 - present, recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area

Post Standard (Syracuse, NY)
http://www.syracuse.com
Library has 1909 - present, recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area

USA Today (Washington, DC)
http://www.usatoday.com
recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area

Wall Street Journal (New York, NY)
http://www.wsj.com
Library has 1889 - present, recent print issues - 2nd floor, Bird Library, current periodicals area