Skip to main content

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Resources @ Syracuse University Libraries

SU Libraries' recommended research starting points for Newhouse School students and faculty

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos.  Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Scholarly Literature-Communications & Beyond

To explore the full list of 400+ SU Libraries databases, visit the Library's Databases A-Z page.

 

  • Communication Source   - is a primary collection of articles and other references to published literature in all sub-disciplines of public communications, including advertising.  Covers articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals and other periodicals in additional related fields such as media studies, broadcasting, public relations, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric and more.  This database merges together two previously named resources, formerly known as "communication & mass media complete" (ebsco) and "comabstracts" (sage).
     
  •  Film & Television Literature Index - Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity.
     
  • ABI Inform Collection  [Proquest] - Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S.  Draws information from over 3000 journals, as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers articles and other reports.
     
  • MRI - MRI Plus University Reporter (GfK Mediamark Research & Intelligence, LLC) provides numeric survey data from MRI’s Survey of the American Consumer. Data is available reflecting preferences of millions of adult consumers in the U.S. – their media choices, demographics, lifestyles and attitudes, and usage of thousands of brands within hundreds of product category classifications.
     
  • BusinessSource Elite - a large collection of scholarly, trade and news articles with a business focus.  Use the “GE Geographic Terms” field in the search engine pull down windows to limit one’s research results to a particular country context.  Covers nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.  Includes coverage of the Harvard Business Review.
     
  • Sage Journals Online - Full text access to journals in numerous disciplines. Especially strong in health, criminology, management, sociology, psychology and communications.
     
  • Sage Knowledge (ebook collections) - This ebook collection contains social sciences e-books, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more, including some from CQ Press.
     
  • Media Law Reporter - A weekly reporting service focusing exclusively on federal and state media law. Full text of new cases and also a full archive of all previously published cases going back to 1977.
     
  • JSTOR - interdisciplinary academic journal articles; coverage can stretch back to the 19th century-thus, an interesting source when you want thoughtful historical discussion of communications and media studies as covered in primary journal sources from those time periods.
     
  • iPoll Databank [Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Cornell University]
    The leading repository for public opinion data in the U.S.  Roper iPoll Databank draws upon academic, media and commercial polls originating from more than 150 organizations.  Covers over one half million polling questions and responses from 1935 to the present.  Features include question level retrieval with links to full results, links from questions to study abstracts and questionnaires, and unlimited download of datasets via RoperExpress (in SPSS or ASCII formats).  Once inside the database – users can also register for accounts that enhance their ability to manipulate and save search results.
     
  • America:  History & Life / Historical Abstracts - contains scholarly articles authored by historians and communications scholars.  A:H&L covers the U.S. and Canada.  Historical Abstracts deals with the rest of the globe.
     
  • Psychological, social and/or political aspects of communications:
    PsycInfo
    Sociological Abstracts 
    Social Services Abstracts
    PAIS {Public Affairs Information Service}

  Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

SCOLA

SCOLA [SCOLA]
A nonprofit educational consortium based in McClelland, Iowa, that receives and re-transmits television news and entertainment programming from more than fifty different countries in the original languages.

SRDS Media Solutions

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Your Best Research Starts Here - Browse By Subject

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a powerful reference source that offers substantial peer reviewed bibliographies for numerous disciplines, including the Communication field.  Syracuse University Library's OBO subscription includes coverage of these subjects:

Atlantic History || Biblical Studies|| Buddhism || Classics || Communication || Hinduism || International Relations || Islamic Studies || Music || Philosophy || Public Health || Renaissance and Reformation || Sociology || Victorian Literature

Please note - SULinks (tool for linking from bibliographic references to full-text for those items available via Syracuse University Library) is not optimized for some of the references one will see in this database. To definitively determine source availability at SU Library for any specific OBO reference, use the research tools at  http://library.syr.edu 
   (e.g., Classic Catalog, Journals Locator, SUMMON search engine, etc.)

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”

Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders.  The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data.  Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data.  Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.  Variables can be cross-compared using side by side tables and charts.

Global Telecom Data

ICTEye [International Telecommunication Union] Free online service for identifying a variety of numeric telecommunications related indicators for various countries.