Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Rankings & Information about Journals (Social Work): Home

Information About Journals

Important: If you are searching for journal articles by topic, go to Databases.  If you need to know how to find full text when you have a citation or when the full text didn't come up in a database like Psycinfo, go to Citation Linker.

Information about Journals:

JCR: Journal Citation Reportscontains information about impact factor and other measures of a journal's influence. Only includes journals that ISI has ranked.  Excludes some subjects.  Use sources below for other subjects.

Suggestion:

 

Click Journal Citation Reports (in the top bar)

Click JCR Social Sciences Edition

Click Submit

Choose a subject category to view a list of journals on that topic.

Magazines for Libraries includes information about journals and indexing; latest edition in Bird Library Reference; Call Number: REF Z6941 .K2

 

Scimago Journal & Country Rank

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.


Ulrich's Periodicals Directory includes information for specific journal titles about:

  • whether a publication is refereed
  • circulation rates for print issues (but not online)
  • publication frequency
  • reader demographics of some journals
  • description and reviews of some journals

The following titles include information about journals and publishers, including acceptance rates. Sometimes it is best to visit the journal's website or contact the publisher to find out the current information.