Skip to main content

IRP/PSC 400 - War & Peace in the Nuclear Age (Fall 2017)

A library research starting points guide for students enrolled in Prof D'Amico's IRP/PSC 400 course

What is in this Guide

Welcome to an SU Libraries subject guide for IRP/PSC 400!

Use the tabs at the left margin or the links below for access to some selected resources from Syracuse University Libraries for this course.  The guide presents you far more starting point options that any one student will need, but select judiciously, depending on your own specific topical and geographic focus.  Here's an overview of the contents:

Background
Find out where to get in-depth background information from online and encyclopedia sources, including access to archival television news video.

Research Methods
Includes useful general discussion about search strategies and tutorials with refreshers on how to navigate some of the primary Library search tools.

Evaluating Sources
Guidance offering concepts to consider when critically evaluating your sources.

Books
Tips for locating books within SU Libraries collections.

Articles, Video & Primary Sources
Recommendations on finding articles using specific Library databases relevant for subject matter covered in this course.  Also provides a few links to unique collections of primary source documentation some IRP/PSC400 students may find useful. An important subpage on this guide, and a central portal that can lead all IRP/PSC400 students into search tools likely to uncover applicable source material, especially discussion published within scholarly journal articles.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)
If SU Libraries lack specific articles or books you are looking for, those can be borrowed for you from another Library - for free.

Background Information on Countries

 

Europa world image

Europa World
Background on countries including political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
 

The Economist logo

 

E.I.U. Economist Intelligence Unit
Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries.  Also produces in-depth annual country commerce reports.  E.I.U.'s reporting is more lengthy than Europa World's briefer, encyclopedia style content.  See especially the report category within E.I.U. called 'country report.'  Under the country reports, select the "blue site."

 

 

eBook and Book examples

Example of one (of many) specific eBooks - available via SU Libraries

And an example of one of a great many print book titles in the SU Libraries collection

Encyclopedias

 

CQ Researcher - A terrific starting point for obtaining historical background discussion, chronologies and references to further readings and websites.  Many CQ Researcher reports cover domestic U.S. politics.  However, for IRP/PSC 400 relevant encyclopedia style overviews will be available in response to entry of search words such as "Nuclear War," or "Nuclear Weapons" or "Cold War" or "Proliferation" or "North Korea" or "Iran."  In addition, you can use the "browse topics" pull down menu near top margin of the database - to select categories that show all reports in this database under categories such as "Defense & National Security" and/or "International Relations" (under "International Relations" are subcategories for "Regional Political Affairs: East Asia and the Pacific," "U.S. at War: Cold War" and "War and Conflict."). 

Encyclopedia style reports here are sometimes very recent, but others date back into the 1920s (chronologies dating back further).  Search terms you type in might also focus on a region or country such as "Asia," or "North Korea,"  "European Union," or "Europe" or "Turkey" or "Arab World" or "Middle East" or "North Africa" or "China." Finally IRP/PSC 400 students who locate a promising CQ Researcher report may also wish to explore some of the websites appearing under the "contacts" segment of each relevant report, for links to relevant government agencies, international organizations and the like.

 

Annual Reviews - Offers review articles in a wide variety of disciplines, each loaded with citations to additional scholarly books and articles.  Topics covered tend to be broad.   IRP/PSC400 students will want to look to the "journals" tab inside Annual Reviews - and then select "political science" - subsequently entering keyword searches limited to "this journal" - in order to pull up results from the Annual Review of Political Science.  For example, promising literature reviews (summary discussions of leading published research) come back in reply to a search for the term "nuclear."  If you locate a review article of interest, in addition to boosting your background knowledge - you can use the Library website's journal locator, classic catalog or SUMMON search engine to determine if any of the individual sources cited within a pertinent Annual Review of Political Science are available here at SU.  Be selective and see what you can uncover.


Some specific non-circulating books at Bird Library:
RESEARCH TIP:  YOU CAN USE A WORD(S) OR PHRASES ASSIGNED TO A TITLE IN A NEW SEARCH USING THE ADVANCED SUMMON SEARCH SCREEN, CHECK THE BOX TO LIMIT RESULTS TO CONTENT TYPE, 'BOOK/EBOOK,' TO LOCATE ADDITIONAL FULL BOOKS ON SIMILAR TOPICS.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China : modern and historic views of the world's newest and oldest global power. / Berkshire Pub Group
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
DS735 A2 B47 2009

The Cambridge History of the Cold War / edited by Melvyn P. Leffler and Odd Arne Westad
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
D842 C295 2010

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics / Martin Griffiths, editor
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
JZ1160 E53 2005

Companion to the European Union / Alasdair Blair
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
JN 30 B613 2006
 

Globalization and Security : an encyclopedia / G. Honor Fagan and Ronaldo Munck, editors
Bird-2nd Floor -Circulating Collection, 2 vols
D763.M47 G56 2009

Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States / /Malcolm /Mal Malcolm C. Peck
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
DS247 A15 P43 2008

Historical Dictionary of Turkey / Metin Heper & Nurr Bilge Criss
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
DR436 H47 2009


International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000 / B.R. Mitchell.
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
HA4675 M552 2003

Kavass's Current Treaty Index / W.S. Hein & Co.
Bird-Govt Info-Ref, 3rd Floor
JX231 .A343

IMPORTANT ACCESS NOTE:  STUDENTS AT SU ALSO HAVE ACCESS TO TREATIES VIA A DATABASE SUPPORTED BY THE BARCLAY LAW LIBRARY ENTITLED, HEIN ONLINE.  ACCESS IS LIMITED TO 'ON CAMPUS' ONLY.  CLICK INTO THIS RESOURCE, THEN BROWSE TO THE CONTENT CATEGORY, ENTITLED "INTERNATIONAL TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS."

The Major International Treaties Since 1945 : A History and Guide with Texts / J.A.S. Grenville and Bernard Wasserstein.
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
JX171 G745 1987

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace / Nigel Young
Bird-2nd Floor-Reference
JZ5533 O95 2010

Resort to War : A data guide to inter-state, extra-state, intra-state, and non-state wars, 1816-2007 / Meredith Reid Sarkees and Frank Whelon Wayman
Bird-4th Floor-Circulating Collection
JZ6385 S27 2010

U.S. conflicts in the 21st century : Afghanistan War, Iraq War, and the War on Terror / Spencer C. Tucker, editor ; Paul G. Pierpaoli Jr., associate editor.
Bird-3rd Floor-Circulating Collection, 3 Vols.

E897 .U17 2016

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization / George Ritzer
Bird-2nd Floor - Reference, 5 vols.
JZ1318 W543 2012

Gazetteer to maps of Korea / Army Map Service, Corps of Engineers, Department of the Army: Washington : Army Map Service, 1950.
Bird-Maps Reference, 3rd Floor, 3 vols.  (does not circulate)
DS901.8 .U58 1950

Audiovisual Sources (News Reports)

U.S. Coalition Forces Liberate Kuwait City - Feb 27, 1991 NBC Nightly News Report Uploaded to YouTube, Jan 28, 2014

Your review of such historical footage is not limited to the idiosyncracies of YouTube.  Want to watch archived U.S televised news reports about news worthy events covered in IRP/PSC400, Both CNN (1995-present) and NBC News video (1968-present) can be viewed - via the  SU Libraries licensed database - TELEVISION NEWS ARCHIVE (SEARCH KEYWORDS, OR BROWSE BY AIRDATE).  Viewing requires RealPlayer (or, "Real Alternative") software.

Audiovisual Sources (Fictional Treatments)

War, peace, nuclear energy and weapons have often been treated within numerous fictional forms.  In social media, we see this continuing via formats such as remixed mashups.  While often not strictly legal for creators to upload these, they are in their own way primary source commentary.  Frequently, such videos will be taken down in response to take down demands from copyright owners of background music used improperly (e.g., without permission or payment of licensing fees).  Exchange of such content across international borders addS further complexity.  For instance, this tribute to Stanley Kubrick's esteemed 1964 cold war era satirical film, "Dr Strangelove," is not to be found on YouTube despite residing there at one time.  However, with irony looming perhaps, a copy appears on a Russian website.  The film is considered one of the classic movie satires commenting on cold war conflict between the U.S. and the former Soviet Union.  Background music by The Ramones NOT part of that film's original soundtrack 

To identify specific known titles (of videos/feature films or books) and see if they are available via SU Libraries - enter that title search into the Library's Classic Catalog (or, alternatively, into the advanced search page of SUMMON (e.g., one might enter a title search for "Missiles of October" to retrieve location information in the Library's collection for the video containing that 1974 fictional TV movie portrayal of the 1962 Cuban Missile Crisis confronted  by John F. Kennedy's Presidential administration).  Perhaps represents the closest the U.S. has literally come to some of the darker outcomes satirized in Dr. Strangelove actually taking place.

Via the Library's advanced search page of SUMMON, to explore other videos available via the Library, documentaries as well as fiction, you can also combine a search phrase - such as "cold war" (or perhaps search terms such as "war" and "korean"), variations pertinent to your specific topic and region, with a selection from SUMMON's "content type" pull down menu - that limits your search results to the content type category called "video recording."  IMPORTANT ACCESS NOTE:  Documentary films as well as some feature film and television public affairs program content is also available via large licensed streaming video databases the library makes available, such as Kanopy and Academic Video Online.

screen shot of ramones and dr strangelove russian video mashup

This similar mashup example, also making use of the same Kubrick film - is presently on YouTube, unless and until copyright owners of the music demand it be taken down, and uses the David Bowie/Queen song, Under Pressure -

Video Collections at SU Libraries

For more information about video access via SU Libraries and Bird Library's 3rd floor service desk - visit the SU Libraries Video and Music Website.

STREAMING VIDEO DATABASES VIA SU LIBRARIES

These two database collections include a wide variety of educational and documentary films, including some coverage of international affairs, war and weapons, U.S. tensions with North Korea, Iran and the like. Enter keyword searches or browse subject categories.  The Kanopy collection also includes some feature films, while Academic Video Online content includes historical newsreels as well as a cross section of historical U.S. televised public affairs programming from shows like "60 Minutes" and "Meet the Press."

IRP/PSC 400 students who choose to browse the top margin subjects category menu in Kanopy, will want to look at categories such as

  • Documentaries:  Politics and Current Affairs
  • Global Studies
  • Social Sciences, Political Science
  • History - Modern

In Academic Video Online, browse both the top margin my collection menu (to get specific historical TV programs like 60 Minutes) or browse the disciplines menu (selecting social sciences, politics & current affairs OR selecting history - and any number of relevant subcategories applicable to American History, World History, Newsreels, etc.)