Skip to main content

International Relations - Research Guide

A collection of SU Libraries' research starting points for International Relations

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos.  Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Database Searching

See also:

Global Terrorism Database [free web resource from National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism]
Provides detailed information on terrorist incidents.

ICTEye [International Telecommunication Union] Free online service for identifying a variety of numeric telecommunications related indicators for various countries. A highly user friendly interface with country data country covering 1998 and prior thru 2008. Use the pull-down menu to select a country. Indicators covered include: Ratio of mobile cellular subscriptions to fixed telephone lines; Main (fixed) telephone lines per 100 people; Mobile, cellular subscriptions per 100 people; Internet indicators: subscribers, users and broadband subscribers.

Political Database of the Americas [free web resource from Georgetown University]
A non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region. Offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

UCDP – Uppsala Conflict Data Program [Department of Peace and Conflict Research, Uppsala University, Sweden] Since 1979 UCDP has recorded ongoing violent conflicts around the world.  UCDP’s Conflict Database is a freely available, open access resource, containing detailed information on armed conflicts, peace agreements and other aspects of organized violence (1946 – present).    UCDP’s website is also a portal to datasets and codebooks, trendline graphs and news on organized violence and peacemaking taking place around the globe.

 

Off-Campus Access

For information on accessing SU Libraries subscription resources when you are off-campus, see

Working Off Campus

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

 

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”

Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders.  The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data.  Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data.  Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.

Video-Audio-Images

A concise list of SU Libraries subscription databases in media studies and news that represent (or otherwise contain) significant online video, audio or image content. Kanopy, recently added, in addition to non-fiction and documentary video, also contains numerous U.S. and international feature films from the Criterion Collection:

See also freely available news video searching available via:

  • Internet Archive TV News Search
    (free online access to streaming news video - covering 2009 thru present.  Downloading available via fee based loan on DVD - must be returned to Internet Archive.  SU affiliated students and faculty should also visit the SU Libraries subscription to Vanderbilt University's Television News Archive, where online streaming news video is available for CNN (1995 - present) and NBC (1968 - present).  Other major networks are indexed, but no immediate access to video online - for those - download is via a loan of those clips on DVD-must be returned to Vanderbilt Univ.)

  Watch for the SULinks icon

S U Links

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "RefWorks" or "Endnote Web?"  Visit SU Library's Citation Support website.