Recommended Database for Hospitality Journals
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteCovers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 749,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for 440 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Recommended Databases for Industries
The library subscribes to over 400 electronic databases that index a wide variety of materials. So while this list is not exhaustive, it should get you started in those databases especially helpful to researchers looking for industry profiles and data.
- IBISWorld Industry Market ResearchBusiness reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
- Datamonitor 360Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion. This is a merger of the previous MarketLine and Business Insights databases.
- Plunkett Research OnlinePlunkett research online takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.
- BizMinerBizMiner produces granular industry statistical reports, offering industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
- Business & Company Resource CenterDatabase to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
- SBRnet SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry… sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Recommended Databases for Companies
The library subscribes to over 400 electronic databases that index a wide variety of materials. So while this list is not exhaustive, it will get you started in those databases especially helpful to researchers looking for information on individual companies. You should also conduct company searches in databases that index journal and magazine articles for current developments and news.
Click on the little blue information icon for more information.
- Business & Company Resource Center Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
- Mergent Online Financial information of public company -- US Company Data Direct, which contains more than 10,000 U.S. companies (including EDGAR (SEC) filings) and International Company Data Direct, which contains more than 17,000 non-U.S. companies.
- LexisNexis Academic Full-text files focusing on legal (federal, state, national) news (newspapers, newswires, transcripts), business and industry information.
- Hoover's Company Profiles (via ProQuest)This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
- D&B's Million Dollar Database D&B's North American Million Dollar Database provides the information professional, marketer and sales executive with information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.
- ReferenceUSADetailed directory information on U.S. businesses.
- Datamonitor 360Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion. This is a merger of the previous MarketLine and Business Insights databases.
- Leadership Library on the InternetOnline version of the 14 Leadership directory yellow books: Congressional yellow book, Federal yellow book, State yellow book, Municipal yellow book, Federal regional yellow book, Judicial yellow book, Corporate yellow book, Financial yellow book, News media yellow book, Associations yellow book, Law firms yellow book, Government affairs yellow book, Foreign representatives yellow book, and: Nonprofit sector yellow book.
Business Librarian |
Contact Info Syracuse University E.S. Bird Library 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 315-443-9524 Send Email |


Loading...
