Companion to the European Union by
This accessible, user-friendly guide provides students with all the key information and analysis on the European Union and its policies. It covers the main areas, such as the single market and budgeting, and also explores recent developments involving the introduction of the Economic and Monetary Union and the Treaty of Nice. With the accession of ten new member States, the EU is experiencing dramatic changes and this is a comprehensive and thematic guide to all the recent developments. Companion to the European Union is an essential purchase for all students getting to grips with the complexities of the EU and is also an excellent resource for lecturers and professionals.
Comparative European Party Systems by
This book provides a comprehensive analysis of the party systems of the whole continent of Europe. This work also includes case studies of the Baltic States and Balkan democracies and goes as far east as Russia, Ukraine, Georgia, and Turkey.
Constitutions of Europe (2 Vols. ) by
Over the last two decades the political landscape of Europe has evolved significantly, with many central and east European countries taking major steps towards establishing more liberal and democratic societies, largely through constitutional change. This unique collection groups together the constitutions of 46 European countries, including all the Council of Europe member states, as well as Belarus, and Serbia and Montenegro, and traces the historical background of each. Presented on a country-by-country basis and highly accessible each section provides maps and key factual data on the country concerned. This unique reference work will be of particular interest to constitutional law specialists, policy makers, researchers, libraries and all those interested in comparative law and in learning more about the process of constitutional drafting.
Democracy in Europe and the Americas by
From the Magna Carta (1215) to the Summit of the Americas Declaration of Principles (1994) this reference traces the growth of democracy in the West. It covers 39 countries and regions, offering information on the history and political state of each.
The Dictionary of the European Union by
Concise definitions and explanations on all aspects of the European Union. * Over 1,000 entries * Explains the terminology surrounding the EU and outlines the roles and significance of the institutions, member countries, programmes and policies, treaties and personalities * Clear and succinct definitions * Spells out acronyms and abbreviations * Entries include: Globalization; PHARE; Treaty of Nice; Helmut Schmidt; Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF); Tampere Summit; Governance White Paper; Valéry Giscard d'Estaing * Arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe by
First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
European Political Facts of the Twentieth Century by
This new edition of the well established European Political Facts provides a wide-ranging and comprehensive work of reference on Europe in the twentieth century. There are sections on heads of state and ministers, elections, political parties, constitutions, wars and treaties, among many others. The end result provides an invaluable compendium for students, academics, journalists and researchers. Recent events, from developments in the European Union to conflicts in the Balkans, receive full attention. This latest edition of a pioneering reference work first published twenty-five years ago is an indispensable acquisition for all those studying twentieth-century Europe.
The European Union Handbook by
First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Handbook of Public Administration and Policy in the European Union by
The Handbook of Public Administration and Policy in the European Union focuses on the current state of the EU while also demonstrating how its current structure came into being and how it may change in the near future. Although most existing literature is either policy-oriented or institution-oriented, this textbook employs a different, more comprehensive approach. Not only does it analyze selected EU laws and most EU institutions, it is also unique in that it brings together EU public administration, EU institutions, and, most importantly, EU policies into a comprehensive text. Divided into five parts, the book provides an overview of theory discourses on European integration, followed by an analysis of the development of European organizations. Part II explains the nature of the EU, highlighting its institutions. Part III addresses various dimensions of public administration, followed by a review in Part IV of major EU policies, including the Common Agricultural Policy. The textbook concludes with a history of Economic and Monetary Union and a study of the European Central Bank and the euro.
Historical Dictionary of the European Union by
The current European Union (EU) has existed since 1 November 1993. It emerged from the Treaty of Maastricht largely negotiated during 1991. But the history of European integration goes further back. The Schuman Declaration of 9 May 1950 led to the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in 1951, and in 1957 the two Treaties of Rome created the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or EURATOM), which started operating from 1 January 1958. For some years the EEC was often referred to as the Common Market. The Merger Treaty of 1965 (in force since 1967) created a single executive, the European Commission, and a single Council of Ministers. The three Communities from the beginning in 1958 shared the Parliamentary Assembly and European Court of Justice (ECJ). Although these Communities still had separate treaties, they were increasingly seen as the European Community (EC). This new edition of Historical Dictionary of the European Union has a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, member states, internal policies, external relations, basic theories, treaties, and law. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the European Union.
Central and Eastern Europe since 1919 by
The countries of Central and Eastern Europe have had their political, economic and geographical boundaries drawna and re-drawn at key moments throughout the 20th century. This guide to the region gives a picture of the major historical developments since the signing of the Treaty of Versailles, and charts the transformations and upheavals of recent years. It pays particular attention to the early nationalist and then fascist, communist and new nationalist periods, highlighting similarities and differences within Fascist Italy, Nazi Germany, and including Austria and Germany where relevant to the story.
Encyclopedia of European Cinema by 
Europe, 1450-1789 by
This detailed set explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. The sets 1, 082 articles, written by eminent scholars, cover major topics in art, government and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. In addition, the set covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish inquisition, Utopia and others. Each volume includes an eight-page color insert. Features include approximately 575 black-and-white photographs, 60 maps, a year-by-year chronology, a topical outline, and a comprehensive index.
Europe on-screen: cinema and the teaching of history
Handbook of Soviet and East European Films and Filmmakers by
One of the most fascinating aspects of film studies is how it can explain more about the nature of closed societies. In Eastern Europe, artists, intellectuals, and entertainers are now free to create film outside the direct control of the state. This unique handbook convincingly shows how much film art was still being produced behind the Iron Curtain even during such repressive periods as those under Stalin and Brezhnev. Thomas J. Slater has compiled a valuable history of cinematic evolution in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe through the use of detailed historiographical essays for each country. The dramatic changes in the political and economic structures of Eastern Europe that occurred during 1989-90 have revealed even more about courageous filmmakers who worked under difficult conditions. Many were still able to produce artistically important films, but filmmakers were often forced to become propagandizers for their authoritarian governments. This book outlines the film achievements in the Soviet Union, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia, Hungary, East Germany, Romania, and Bulgaria, and how their people responded to the films they were allowed to see. An appendix contains a chronology of major historical, cultural, and film events in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe during the past 100 years. This book will be of great value to scholars not only of film studies, but also of history, social and political science, communications, culture, and the fine arts. The handbook is an excellent addition to the collections of academic and public libraries and provides a vital listing for film historians and filmmakers.
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World by
The individuals and events of the Elizabethan era continue to be popular topics for contemporary literature and film, and Elizabethan drama, poetry, and music are studied and enjoyed everywhere by students, scholars, and the general public. The Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period. The first dictionary of history to focus exclusively on the reign of Elizabeth I, this volume is also the first to take abroad trans-Atlantic approach to the period by including relevant individuals and terms from Irish, Scottish, Welsh, American, and Western European history.
International Historical Statistics by
International Historical Statistics; Europe 1750-2005 is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2005 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source.
One Europe, Many Nations by
Dominating world politics since 1945, the Cold War created a fragile peace while suppressing national groups in the Cold War's most dangerous theater--Europe. Today, with the collapse of Communism, the European Continent is again overshadowed by the specter of radical nationalism, as it was at the beginning of the century. Focusing on the many possible conflicts that dot the European landscape, this book is the first to address the Europeans as distinct national groups, not as nation-states and national minorities. It is an essential guide to the national groups populating the so-called Old World-groups that continue to dominate world headlines and present the world community with some of its most intractable conflicts. While other recent reference books on Europe approach the subject of nations and nationalism from the perspective of the European Union and the nation-state, this book addresses the post-Cold War nationalist resurgence by focusing on the most basic element of any nationalism--the nation. It includes entries on nearly 150 groups, surveying these groups from the earliest period of their national histories to the dawn of the 21st century. In short essays highlighting the political, social, economic, and historical evolution of peoples claiming a distinct identity in an increasingly integrated continent, the book provides both up-to-date information and historical background on the European national groups that are currently making the news and those that will produce future headlines.
Peoples of the World by
This volume provides information on population, location, history, food, holidays and celebrations on both modern and ancient cultures from Eastern Europe. Essays of 5-15 pages discuss the background and modern structure of each, including Albania, Poland, Lithuania, Romania and others.
Reformation and Early Modern Europe by
Continuing the tradition of historiographic studies, this volume provides an update on research in Reformation and early modern Europe. Written by expert scholars in the field, these eighteen essays explore the fundamental points of Reformation and early modern history in religious studies, European regional studies, and social and cultural studies. Authors review the present state of research in the field, new trends, key issues scholars are working with, and fundamental works in their subject area, including the wide range of electronic resources now available to researchers. Reformation and Early Modern Europe: A Guide to Research is a valuable resource for students and scholars of early modern Europe.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by
Examining cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa, these four volumes provide information on history, politics, customs, religion, education, and human rights issues.
An Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe by
This is an authoritative reference guide to all the languages of Europe, covering nearly three hundred languages and language families.
A Manual of European Languages for Librarians by
An extensive guide for librarians who are faced with ordering or cataloguing books in a language they know either very poorly or not at all. For 38 languages, provides information on general characteristics, bibliolinguistics, the alphabet, phonetics, spelling, articles, the various parts of speech,
International Newspapers
This list includes newspapers either published outside of the United States, or published for international communities within the U.S. The Library has current subscriptions to many of these newspapers and may have older issues of some titles. Please check the SU Libraries Classic Catalog for more information. In addition - SU Libraries online databases also contain millions more pages of international newspaper content.
Czech Republic
Právo (Prague) in Czech
England
Financial Times (London) in English
Guardian (London) in English
Independent (London) in English
Times (London) in English
France
Figaro (Paris) in French
France Amérique (New York) in French
Monde (Paris) in French
Germany
Frankfurter Allgemeine (Frankfurt) in German
Süddeutsche Zeitung (Munich) in German
Zeit (Hamburg) in German
Greece
Pontiki (Athens) in Greek
Italy
Corriere della Sera (Milan) in Italian
Stampa (Torino) in Italian
Russia
Izvestiia (Moscow) in Russian
Novoe Russkoe Slovo (New York) in Russian
Pravda (Moscow) in Russian
Sovetskaia Rossiia (Moscow) in Russian
Spain
País (Madrid) in Spanish
Hundreds of documents from the early to mid 20th century "European Federalist Movement." Dated between 1940-1987, multiple European languages are represented in this collection, with correspondence to and from such notable individuals as Winston Churchill, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Jean Monnet, Paul Henri Spaak, Averill Harriman and William J. Fulbright. The originals of the collection reside at the European University Institute, Florence, Italy. These represent a broad historical cross-section of people and organizations linked to the advocacy of a more politically united European continent, an issue still quite timely today. {A gift to the SU Library Collection from Maxwell School of Public Affairs Political Science Professor, Craig Parsons, and Professor of History Emeritus, Peter T. Marsh}
