Skip to main content

ETS 426: Love and Marriage in Shakespeare’s England Final (Spring 2017): Home

About this Guide

This guide will help you to locate sources for your final ETS 426 paper.

I demonstrated many of these database when I visited your class, but I encourage you to have a look at each of them.

If you have questions or problems using these resources, you can contact me directly:

Patrick Williams
315.443.9520
jpwill03@syr.edu

Recommended Databases of General Literary Scholarship

CRITICISM

MLA Bibliography
Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.

JSTOR & Project Muse are full text scholarly archives of research in history and literature, the social sciences, and many other areas. Make sure to narrow your search by discipline if you are getting lots of irrelevant results. Many of the journals listed above are archived here. See also JSTOR Labs' Understanding Shakespeare to find articles quoting the plays you choose.

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text of more than 350,000 works of creative writing, literary nonfiction, and literary criticism. Searchable by author, title, genre, movement, school, and period.  Includes original texts, criticism, and multimedia content.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare

Background information & Research Help

MLA Literary Research Guide
The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.