Skip to main content

ETS 310 Resources (Fall 2014): Home

About this Guide

This guide will help you to locate sources for your final paper on Walter Besant’s Children of Gibeon, its historical moment and its publication context. I demonstrated many of these database when I visited your class, but I encourage you to have a look at each of them.


If you have questions or problems using these resources, you can contact me directly:

Patrick Williams
315.443.9520
jpwill03@syr.edu

Recommended Databases for Historical Publications & Documents

 

British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. This database contains Longman's Magazine from 1882-1905, including the original serialization of Besant's Children of Gibeon (here's the first portion -- see the rest all by pasting the following query into the British Periodicals search box:
ti(children of gibeon) AND pub(longman's magazine, 1882-1905)
Remember to use the date and record type to locate the most relevant materials.

Search the full text of 200 years' worth of the Times of London. Since this is a huge amount of material, you may want to restrict your search terms to just article titles and citation information.


Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online provides you with both historical printed material and manuscripts alongside scholarship on the topics covered in its collections. When searching this source, limit your searches to a relevant timeframe, choose the British Politics and Society collection, and pay attention to the content type in your result.


Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.


Women and Social Movements. Primary documents on women and social movements from 1840 to the present. Make sure to limit by country and sort by date to find relevant materials.

Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. This resource spans both US and UK periodicals, so be aware of the location of publication for the sources you find. You can select to search both this material and the content in British Periodicals sumultaneously.

Recommended Databases for Additional Context and Historical Research

CRITICISM

MLA Bibliography
Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

JSTOR & Project Muse are full text scholarly archives of research in history and literature, the social sciences, and many other areas. Make sure to narrow your search by discipline if you are getting lots of irrelevant results.

Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text of more than 350,000 works of creative writing, literary nonfiction, and literary criticism. Searchable by author, title, genre, movement, school, and period.  Includes original texts, criticism, and multimedia content.

 

REFERENCE & ADDITIONAL CONTEXTAL SOURCES

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Provides an extensive annotated bibliography to Victorian Literature which can help to inform you on potential topics and point you to strong sources.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in English-language literature and criticism with entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

HISTORICAL RESEARCH

Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Includes books, articles in journals and collections, and dissertations. Indexes Victorian Periodicals Review.

Bibliography of English and Irish History
Use this resource to find citations to articles on English history; make sure to set the date period so results relevant to the particular historical context will be retrieved.