Skip to main content

ETS 113: Survey of British Literature: Beginnings to 1789 (Fall 2016): Home

About this Guide

This guide will help you to locate sources for your research assignments for ETS 113.

I demonstrated many of these database when I visited your class, but I encourage you to have a look at each of them.

If you have questions or problems using these resources, you can contact me directly:

Patrick Williams
315.443.9520
jpwill03@syr.edu

Databases for Historical Texts

Recommended Databases of General Literary Scholarship

CRITICISM

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text of more than 350,000 works of creative writing, literary nonfiction, and literary criticism. Searchable by author, title, genre, movement, school, and period.  Includes original texts, criticism, and multimedia content.

MLA Bibliography
Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

JSTOR & Project Muse are full text scholarly archives of research in history and literature, the social sciences, and many other areas. Make sure to narrow your search by discipline if you are getting lots of irrelevant results. Many of the journals listed above are archived here.

Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.

SUMMON for access to books & ebooks in the Libraries' collection (make sure to check the Books & E-Books box on the search results page).

Background information & Research Help