This is the "About This Guide" page of the "English & Literature Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library

English & Literature Resources   Tags: american_literature, english, english_literature  

A subject guide to assist your research of topics in English and Literature.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/englishlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

About This Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books

This list includes highlights of SUL's new acquisitions that are likely of interest to English Department faculty and students. For more focused lists of new titles, see the other boxes on this page, or click the Explore new titles by topic tab at the top of this page.


Click here view more new titles in English, Literature, Criticism, Drama, and related areas
. Or, you can subscribe to this feed with your RSS reader.

 

Using this Research Guide

This guide is intended to point you to books, periodicals, subscription databases, and websites that will help you to define and complete your research projects in English and Literature. The guide is organizes into the following set of pages (which you can see listed in tabs above).

  • Reference Works features resources available electronically and in print which provide background information, assist you in defining terms, and offer overviews of genres and periods.

  • Databases features links to SUL's electronic databases, which will point you to articles and essays from scholarly and popular publications covering the fields of English and Literature.

  • Other Literature Resources Online provides links to pertinent websites, professional organizations, and online literary magazines.

If you have any favorite resources that are not a part of this guide, feel free to contact me or submit links in the submission box on this page.

 

New Database: Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500–1640

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance has released new database, the Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640.

Based on our trial, we decided to purchase access to this resource-- thanks to all for their feedback. Please contact Patrick Williams, Subject Specialist for English (jpwill03@syr.edu | 443-9520) if you have any questions.

 

Featured Electronic Resource

 Eighteenth Century Collection Online

 A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Click here to Access ECCO

Suggest a Resource

If you have any favorite resources that are not a part of this guide, feel free to contact me or submit links in the form below.

If you are teaching a class and would like a more specific or focused research guide, please contact me and we can discuss creating one together.

 

EEBO + ECCO

Did you know you can retreive Eighteenth Century Collections Onilne search results while you're searching Early English Books Onilne?

 

Here's how:


On the initial search page, yype your search terms and click the box for "Include records from ECCO in your search"

 

In your search results, if you come across entries with a link to "View full record in ECCO," you can simply click through to retreive the document from ECCO. :

Clicking the green icon for ECCO will take you to a page ABOUT ECCO, rather than to the document you need, so make sure to click the text link instead.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Patrick Williams
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
210 E.S. Bird Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244
315-443-9520
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip