Skip to main content

Earth Sciences Resources: Online Journals & Databases

Sources and information for those interested in Geology and Earth Sciences

SU Libraries journal locator

We currently provide access to over 300 journals focused on Earth and Environmental Sciences arranged in several sub-categories. Search the complete directory of the SU Libraries journal locator. Listings will show what print holding are available as well as full-text online holdings and which database they can be found.

Core literature databases for the earth sciences

  • GeoRef (ProQuest interface)
    Comprehensive coverage of all areas of the geological sciences, as well as hydrology, geomorphology, soils, oceanography, paleoclimatology. Coverage from 1785

  • USGS Publications Warehouse
    A complete index to USGS publications, with 65% of the content currently available online

  • Scopus
    The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Includes the complete contents of GEOBASE. Coverage from 1823, but records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing references for all types of publications

  • Web of Science
    Interdisciplinary, but the articles indexed are almost exclusively from top-ranked, peer-reviewed journals. Search for citing articles from 1900

  • ProQuest Research Library
    For non-scholarly coverage of earth sciences topics, this interdisciplinary database also includes full text articles from trade journals, magazines, newspapers etc.
  • AGU Digital Library
    A comprehensive collection of more than 100 years of earth and space science research

Watch for the SULinks icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

Related databases useful for specific research areas

  • Arctic and Antarctic Regions
    Interdisciplinary index covering many cold regions publications that are not found in the larger subject databases
     
  • Compendex
    The world's largest engineering index. Includes literature related to hydrology, geomorphology, soils etc. Coverage from 1884
     
  • Dissertations & Theses
    Full text access to nearly one million dissertations published from 1997. Abstracts only for earlier dissertations and for masters theses
     
  • NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
    ACCESS NOTE: Free unregistered access is limited to a single BASIC search box. Users can register for free by creating their own username and password to access full-text documents.
    The NTRL database offers free public access to approximately 2.8 million federal science and technology reports. Of those reports, 850,000 are freely downloadable in full-text after you complete the free registration process.
  • SciFinder
    The most comprehensive index to the chemical literature, including geochemistry. Allows for substance and reaction searching. Coverage from 1907. NOTE!! To use SciFinder, you will need to register. This link will take you to a Subject Guide that will provide more details and links to register.

Journal Archive sites

Horseshoe Bend, Glen Canyon, AZ

Horseshoe Bend Glen Canyon

Photo by Lars Jensen