Skip to main content

Dissertations & Theses in the Syracuse University Libraries: Home

Finding guide to dissertations and theses produced at Syracuse University

About this Guide

The purpose of this guide is to help users locate print or electronic versions of graduate theses and dissertations completed at Syracuse University. These documents are found in the following locations:

This guide will walk you through the date ranges, options, and details of how to locate and access SU Dissertations and Theses in these locations.

To find dissertations and theses from other institutions, use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Read or Scan a Dissertation on Microfilm

A microfilm/fiche scanner is available on the 3rd floor of Bird Library to perform scan to file, scan to print, email, OCR, and automated multi-page scanning. The scanning station is connected to the network and uses NetID for login, enabling users to send scans via email or print copies from their print quota.  Please ask for assistance at the 3rd floor service desk.

Syracuse University Libraries Facility

The Syracuse University Libraries Facility - information about requesting resources

Locate a Syracuse University Dissertation

Dissertations Online

 

Dissertations in Print or Microfilm

When looking for a dissertation in print or microfilm first try to locate it in the Catalog using an author or title search.Selected dissertations from 1900 - 2009 are on microfilm at the Facility.  These may be requested and viewed/scanned in Bird Library. The University stopped accepting print dissertations in 2011, so for dissertations completed from 2012 to the present, use the online resources above.

 

If a dissertation is not in the Catalog:

If a dissertation is not in the Catalog you may contact the University Archives.  The University Archives has the copy of record of most dissertations and theses produced at Syracuse University.

Paper copies of student works are housed off-campus, but can be transported to campus if Archives is given 48-hours' notice. They can be viewed in the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room (600 Bird Library).

Locate a Syracuse University Thesis

Theses Online

 

Theses in Print or Microfilm

When looking for a thesis in print or microfilm first try to locate it in the Catalog using an author or title search. A thesis at the Facility may be requested. The University stopped accepting print theses in 2011, so for theses completed from 2012 to the present, use the online resources above.

 

If a thesis is not in the Catalog:

If a thesis is not in the Catalog you may contact the University Archives.  The University Archives has the copy of record of most dissertations and theses produced at Syracuse University.

Paper copies of student works are housed off-campus, but can be transported to campus if Archives is given 48-hours' notice. They can be viewed in the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room (600 Bird Library).

Creative Writing MFA Final Projects

Many Creative Writing MFA Final Projects (1964 to present) are available on the 5th floor of Bird Library in the PS508.C6 S9 call number range. They are shelved by year, then by author's last name within the year.

Dissertations and Theses by Year

Where to begin your search for Dissertations and Theses by Year
  Before 1953 1953-Present 2009-Present 2012 - Present
Dissertations Search Catalog    Search ProQuest    Search ProQuest & SURFACE Search ProQuest & SURFACE
Theses Search Catalog    Search Catalog Search ProQuest Search ProQuest & SURFACE