This site highlights a few of the many resources available for finding primary sources related to the field of disability studies. The primary resources are organized into three sections: sources of archival content, resources containing both archival and contemporary content, and sources of contemporary content. Two additional sections are included for further research with non-primary resources and using the internet to find sources.
Included in ProQuest Social Sciences Databases. Focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Coverage goes back to 1979.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, conference proceedings and patents. Includes the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
This database is about older adults. Provides coverage of social gerontology--the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966; updated bimonthly.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Provides a visual and textual history of disability in the culture. Disability in the Modern World includes video and pages of primary sources, including letters, documents, news stories, government and institutional documents, oral histories, interviews, documentaries and related archival materials.
Dissertations and Theses
Find dissertations and theses from Syracuse University
SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment, is a full-text, multi-media online database that provides mostly open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.
Archival Databases with Disability Related Coverage
Comprehensive digital edition of a microfilm set that aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Covers books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers. Northern and Old Northwest newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s. Database content is based on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820. Post 1820 content has been supplemented by nearly two million issues added by the American Antiquarian Society.
Included in ProQuest Social Sciences Databases. Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public and international affairs. Covers 1914 to the present.
Also includes an image database. Click on More in the navigation bar at the top of the screen. Useful Subject Words: disability, disabilities, including words describing specific disabilities. Use current and former terms e.g. mental retardation America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations
International coverage. Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues. Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life was created with the assistance of the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, which holds a very significant collection of archival and present content in the area of LGBT studies. The Lesbian Herstory Archives of the Lesbian Herstory Education Foundation also assisted EBSCO to further develop the collection of content in LGBT Life.
In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Please make note of references in the right column for related articles "An international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of ... all those working, teaching, studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies."
Topic areas: Education; Employment; Women in the family and community; Medicine and health; Female sex and gender role socialisation; Social policy; Social psychology of women; Female culture; Media treatment of women; Biography; Literary criticism; and Historical studies.
General Databases that Cover Multiple Topics
Proquest Central [vendor: Proquest]--Covers more than 160 subjects areas. Content includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Includes some full text.
Omnifile Mega [vendor: Ebsco]-- Full text, Indexed and abstracted records from H.W. Wilson Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Wilson Full Text. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Scopus [vendor: Reed Elsevier] -- Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents.
Social Sciences Full Text [vendor: Ebsco] -- Index with abstracts in sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences. Index with abstracts to more than 400 international, English-language periodicals.to more than 400 international, English-language periodicals. Indexing from February 1983 to the present. Abstracts from January 1994. Updated monthly.
JSTOR [vendor: JSTOR]-- Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Humanities, Literature, Linguistics
Humanities Full Text [vendor: Ebsco] Index and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Indexing from February 1984 to the present, abstracts from March 1994. Updated monthly.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Abstracts [vendor: Proquest] of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.
MLA International Bibliography [vendor: Proquest] Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies and also MLA Directory of Periodicals. (Dates covered: 1926 - Present)
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature [vendor: Proquest] Bibliographic records for books, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. Includes links to the full text of 71 journals.
International Index to the Performing Arts [vendor: Proquest] Full-text of scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.