Numeric Data Resources: US Elections

This Google Custom search engine performs a search on websites that have been evaluated for their usefulness in providing data and statistics. Results will open in a new window.

Below are links to other pages that may be of interest to you.

US Government Agencies

• Federal Election Commission - In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
• Voting and Registration - Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS)

Domestic Data Archives

• Pew Research Center - The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
• Harvard Election Data Archive - This archive contains data on election results, voting behavior, and electoral politics, with particular focus on the United States.   The core data for the archive are state, county and district level election returns for all recent state and federal elections in the United States.
• American Presidency Project - Public papers, data, and other media related to American presidents.
• National Election Studies - high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation that serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists concerned with the theoretical and empirical foundations of mass politics in a democratic society.
• Atlas of US Presidential Elections - The Atlas is a free internet resource providing results of U.S. Presidential Elections to the world community. Data is collected from many official sources and presented here in one convenient location.
• National Annenberg Election Survey - The National Annenberg Election Survey (NAES) examines a wide range of political attitudes about candidates, issues and the traits Americans want in a president.  It also has a particular emphasis on the effects of media exposure through campaign commercials and news from radio, television and newspapers.

International Data Archives

• The Constituency-Level Elections Archive - is a repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.
• International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance - The International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance is an intergovernmental organization. Its programmes aim to Provide knowledge to democracy builders; Provide policy development and analysis; Support democratic reform.

General

• Comparative Study of Electoral Systems - The CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries and provinces include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies.

• CQ Voting and Elections Collection - Integrates recent and deeply historical data about American voting behavior. Covers electoral races for the U.S. Congress, the Presidency and state governorships. Includes data on voter turnout, and major and minor political parties.
• Gallup Poll News Service - The Gallup Poll News Service provides news centered on public opinion. Published each business day, articles from the Gallup Poll News Service analyze findings and trends in politics, business, social issues, and Americans' lifestyles.
• iPOLL Databank - The leading repository for public opinion data in the U.S. Roper iPoll Databank draws upon academic, media and commercial polls originating from more than 150 organizations.
• Historical Statistics of the United States - Online version of standard reference for quantitative data about American history. Statistics can be downloaded to Excel or CSV, printed and graphed.
• Polling the Nations - Database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method. Other information provided includes: source name and contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population.
• Data-Planet - a Web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to 1.5 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface.
• ProQuest Statistical Insight - Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications then link to the full text of selected publications on Statistical Insight and government websites.
• Vital Statistics on American Politics - CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics is part of CQ Press Political Reference Suite which enables searching multiple political sources at once. It includes Congress and the Nation (1945-present), Historic Documents (1972-present), Supreme Court Yearbook (1990-present), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory, Historic Documents (1972-present).