On this Guide
This guide will assist you in locating appropriate sources for your Diversity Topic Group Presentation Assignment.
APA Citation Format
Take a look at the SU Library's Guide to Citation Styles for tips on formatting your references according to the APA Publication Manual.
Contact the Subject Specialist

Patrick Williams
Contact Info:
210 E.S. Bird Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244
315-443-9520
Send Email
Databases for Scholarly Materials
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides access to the literature related to communication and mass media.Relevant titles include: Business Communication Quarterly, Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies, Rhetoric & Public Affairs, Conflict Resolution Quarterly, Journal of Business Ethics, & International Journal of Cross Cultural Management.
- Sage Journals Online
SAGE publishes more than 500 academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.Relevant titles include: Group & Organization Management, Business Information Review, Journal of Business and Technical Communication, Media, Culture & Society, and Work, Employment & Society.
- ABI/INFORM (via ProQuest)
Full abstract and indexing coverage begins with 1992. Full text available for over 600 titles.Relevant titles include: American Journal Of Management Development, Business Management, Berkeley Technology Law Journal, Business and Society Review.
- Business Source Elite
Full-text access to 976 peer-reviewed journals in Business and Management.Relevant titles include: Business Communication Quarterly, Communication Reports, Communications & the Law, Human Communication Research, Information & Communications Technology Law, Journal of Communication, Management Communication Quarterly.
Specific Academic Journal Titles
- Management Communication Quarterly
- Journal of Business Communication
- Academy of Management Review
- Journal of Management Inquiry
- Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies
Some useful titles for the groups looking at age discrimination:
- The Gerontologist
- Generations: the journal of the Western Gerontological Society
- Journal of Gerontology
- AgeLine, a Gerontology Database.
Make sure to check references in the articles you find for other related titles.
Find other databases on the CRS Research Guide and the Business & Management Research Guide. Or, search for more databases.
Tips and Tricks
1. Start with Advanced Search
The advanced search screen allows you to limit your searching to specific date ranges and provides the opportunity to search for your term inside of article titles, abstracts, etc.

2. Limit your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed titles.
Most databases allow you to click a check box to ensure that only articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed databases will come up for your query. If the database you're searching does not have this option, pay special attention to indicators of publication type, and filter your search results once they appear.

3. Exclude document types that are not of interest.
Often, short editorials or book reviews will come up in your searches of scholarly literature. Use the advanced search options to control the type of materials that are retrieved to avoid inappropriate article types.

4. Search for documents with more than a few hundred words.
Most databases allow you to use an operator to set word count limits-- this will help you to identify articles of appropriate length. For example, in ABI Inform, adding WC (>1000) to your query finds only articles with greater than 1000 words.

5. Try the same search strategies in several different databases.
All of the databases are similar, but each has its own idiosyncrasies and features. Expect slightly different results, and use each databases' tools to your advantage.
6. Use the databases' email feature to guarantee you have everything you need for a good citation.
MOST IMPORTANT! Make sure to use the databases' email article feature to make sure that you have all of the information you need to complete your citation. Another benefit of emailing articles is that you won't have to recreate your searches each time you want to access an article.


Loading...
