Research Guides: German Language and Literature: Home

German Language & Literature at Syracuse University

The Syracuse University German Program is part of the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics in the College of Arts & Sciences.

German Language, Literature, and Culture Program Website

Streaming Videos Online

Writing a paper

When you write a paper or give a presentation you need to have a topic( thesis topic), and you must reference your sources according to one citation manual.

Take a moment to think about your topic.

Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions. Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).

Think of words and phrases to use in a search for information regarding your topic. If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information. Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.

Purdue Writing Lab- OWL
Syracuse University Citation Sources
Interlibrary Loan
You can request books and online articles that are not available. Register once and it will be active till you graduate.

Databases and E-Book Collections of Interest

KLGonline
The KLG (Kritische Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur, or Critical Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Literature) provides bio-bibliographical information on hundreds of writers of post-1945 German literature. Each entry contains a short biography; a list of prizes won; a bibliography of the author's works (including works for theater, film, radio, and multimedia projects, as well as translations); interviews; and a list of secondary sources.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
A subject index for books, articles, and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. Dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. The majority of records cover English-language publications, but other languages represented include French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
A "resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse." Updated annually, " the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements." Includes alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

ProQuest Literature & Language
A resource that offers access to multiple databases, including CBCA Complete: Literature & Language, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language, and ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language.

JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities. Includes coverage of titles such as German Quarterly (1928 -2011), German Studies Review (1978-2011), and Monatshefte (1946-2009).
Bertolt Brechts Werke
An authorized electronic edition of the works of Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) issued in co-operation with the German publisher Suhrkamp Verlag. Based on Bertolt Brecht: Ausgewaehlte Werke in sechs Baenden: Jubilaeumsausgabe zum 100. Geburtstag. Includes poetry, dramatic works, and major critical writings with brief notes on each text.
Goethes Werke
The 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's literary and scientific works, diaries, and letters. Includes illustrations, notes, variants, and indexes from the published volumes.
Kafkas Werke
Digital version of the critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher.

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Provides access to "one of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century ... [i.e.,] the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (1779–1834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany." Includes 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 1790–1840.

Foreign Language News and Newspapers: German

List provided MIT Libraries

Das Aktuelle Tagesprogramm
Information on German television.

Berliner Morgenpost
Berlin daily newspaper.

Bild Online
From Germany

BR-Online
Daily news reports from Bayerischer Rundfunk.

Elektroniknet
An electronics magazine.

Elle
A monthly women's magazine.

Eulenspiegel
A satirical magazine from Berlin.

Express
Daily news from Germany.

FinanzNachrichten
A newsmagazine from Germany.

Focus
A newsmagazine from Germany.

GEO Explorer
News from "Project Tropical Rainforest" and GEO magazine.

Ulm, Germany News
News from Ulm, Germany.

Goyax

Hamburger Morgenpost
"The first German tabloid on the Web."

Jetzt
A German "youth magazine".

Der Journalist
From Germany.

Junge Welt
Berlin daily.

Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger
Online news from Köln.

Kress-Report
Daily news from Germany.

Maerkische Allgemeine

Daily newspaper from Brandenburg, Germany.

Markt & Technik
Selected articles from this business magazine.

Mittlebayerische Zeitung
News from Regensburg.

Natur
A monthly environmental magazine.

Netzwelt.de
An online technology magazine.

Nurnberger Nachrichten
A Nurnberg paper, updated monthly.

PC Magazin News
From Germany. (Contains summary of latest issue and archives.)

Perlentaucher: Literatur im Internet
Cultural magazine pointing to book reviews in major German-language newspapers.

Press-Artikel.org
Presseportal: Pressemittteilungen & Artikel kostenlos veröffentlichen

Rheinische Post
Online edition of this paper from Düsseldorf.

Rheinscher Merkur
Online multimedia news from Germany.

Saarbrucker Zeitung
One of Germany's major regional newspapers.

Schädelspalter
From Hannover, Germany.

Schleswig-Holsteinischer Zeitungsverlag
Allows free access to the archives of this German newspaper.

Schwäbisches Tagblatt
Online news from TÜingen.

Schwäbische Zeitung
From Germany.

Das Sonntagsblatt
From Hamburg.

Der Spiegel
Germany's first online political magazine.

Stern
A major German magazine.

Die Süddeutsche Zeitung
German daily.

Tagesschau
German newspaper with video available.

Tip
A cultural magazine from Berlin.

TV Movie On
An on-line German movie magazine.

VDI Nachrichten
From Dusseldorf, Germany

Die Welt
One of Germany's most well-known daily papers.

The WWW Virtual Library
German media resources from "the oldest library on the internet."

Die Zeit
Die Zeit on the Internet.

Zitty Online
News and cultural information from Berlin.

Zweite Hand
On-line German car and motorcycle news published three times a week.

Librarian

Ann Skiold

Email Me

Contact:

458B Bird Library

315-443-3539

Syracuse University

Subjects: Art, Design, and Photography, Film Studies, Humanities, Language, Literature, and Linguistics, Museum Studies

Classified Resources at the SU Libraries

Browsing Library Collections by Call Numbers

Although some older books are perhaps classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, most Syracuse University Libraries print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. [NOTE: Although they have no physical presence, e-books are also assigned base LC classification numbers to make them findable via Classic Catalog "Call Number" searches.]

The LC system has allocated Class P to Languages and Literatures. “P” call numbers are assigned to the Languages and Literatures holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 5th floor of Bird Library.

Note: Less frequently used library materials are kept off campus, either at The Warehouse or at The Facility. (The latter is a high-density storage space at 1556 Jamesville Avenue.) Materials in remote storage can be requested for next-business-day delivery to a library on campus.

To see an outline of the entire "P" Class, open the document below. Then click on Subclasses "PD," "PF," and/or "PT" for outlines of the classification schemes for Germanic Languages and Literatures.

Library of Congress Class P - Language and Literature [PDF]

Dictionaries, Bibliograhies

Beolingus German- English Dictionary
Deutsche Biographie
Combines the ADB (Allgemeine deutsche Biographie) and the NDB (Neue deutsche Biographie).