Home - GEO 327 - Coastal Environments (SPRING 2018) - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

News Sources

Access World News
Links to news sources from around the world.

Use these and other News databases found in the Library's Database list.

Nexis Uni
Search for Newspaper, Wire Service, TV & radio transcripts of news stories
World News Connection
International news sources

Core literature sources and databases to use for this class

Scopus
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Includes complete contents of GEOBASE and is our most comprehensive index to the geographical literature. Coverage from 1823, but records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing references for all types of publications.

Search these databases, available through the Library's Database menu, to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles in geography.

Web of Science
Interdisciplinary. Search for citations to articles published in top peer-reviewed journals. Coverage from 1900
GeoRef
Comprehensive coverage of all areas of the geological sciences, as well as hydrology, geomorphology, soils, oceanography, paleoclimatology. Coverage from 1785
EPA Publications Search
Publications and Newsletters from the US Environmental Protection Agency

USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS archive of published reports and publications. About 75% are available in full-text .PDF
Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library
Source for recent and older publications produced by the Corps.

Web Information Sources

European Commission on Environment
Links to reports on all aspects of environmental concern in Europe.

International sources of environmental information can be found here. This list is in no way a complete list of authoritative sources of informantion.

Health & Environment Linkages (HELI)
Links provided by the WHO & the UN on aspects of Health and the Environment
UN - Environment Program
Many sources and links to environmental concerns around the world.
Environmental NGOs
List of NGOs interested in the Environment. (Maybe one of the few things Wikipedia is good for)

Mapping/Data sources

USGS Map Store
Free download of USGS topographic maps, both current and historic. Search for a place and then click the marker on the map. A window will open up with a list of maps for that quad for you to download.
USGS Topoview
USGS Historical topo maps

NOAA Charts
Search for charts by using the Chart Locator, the ENC Listing or the ENC Online links.
EPA Watershed maps
Find watersheds and download information and data about that watershed or sub-watershed.
Wetlands from US Fish & Wildlife Service
Build, search, query, and download custom digital maps and data in the area you choose.

National Centers for Environmental Information
Now called the
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)

TONS and TONS of data to download. Not an easy website to use. But it can yield some amazing results if you stick with it.

EPA - EIS
Search for Environmental Impact Statements for areas within the US from 2004 on.
IRI - Climate data
Climate data, included international sources.
EPA EnviroFacts
Find general environmental information about a specific company or place.

Contact

John Olson

Email Me

Contact:

358 Bird Library

Individual appointments for in-depth reference inquiries are also welcome through MS Teams or Zoom.

315.443.4818

Subjects: Earth Sciences, Geography, Government Information, Maps and GIS

Style Sheets & Guides

Chicago Manual of Style
Check here for details on how to reference the articles you have.

Journal Types

Use UlrichsWeb to see if the journal you're using is peer-reviewed, scholarly, trade, or a mass-market title.

Ulrichsweb
Information about currently published as well as discontinued magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, and other serials.

Mexico

National Atlas of Mexico

GEO 327 - Coastal Environments (SPRING 2018): Home