Writing & Citing
This page has information that might be useful in the writing process, including
See also:
Open Access Information
If you are considering publishing an article in an open access journal, or if you do research under an NIH grant, this page lists all journals that actively comply with the mandate to deposit articles in PubMed Central.
See also the S.U. Library's guide to the NIH Open Access mandate and BioMed Central's Open Access Myths.
Open Access News

Loading RSS Feed...
ACS Style Guide
The ACS Style, from the American Chemical Society, is the most prevalent citation style for chemical publications. For journal articles (the most common format), citations should take this form:
Author, A. A; Author, B. B; Author, C. C. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation (italics) [Online if online] Year (boldface), Volume (italics), Pagination.
For example:
Borman, S. Protein Sequencing For The Masses. Chem. Eng. News [Online] 2004, 82, pp 22-23.
Slunt, K. M.; Giancarlo, L. C. Student-Centered Learning: A Comparison of Two Different Methods of Instruction. J. Chem. Educ. 2004, 81, pp 985-988.
Sources
- ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information (3rd edition) SciTech Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006
- ACS Style Guidelines (University of Wisconsin Madison Library)
- ACS Style Guidelines Quick Guide (University of California Berkeley Library)
- Butkovich, N.J. A Quick Guide To Citing Using The ACS Style Guide. [PDF] (Penn State)
- How to Format Citations (Williams College)
RefWorks
RefWorks is
a citation management system that allows you to save, store, and manage
bibliographic citations, and also to generate bibliographies in over
300 different citation styles. Most databases allow direct export of records into
RefWorks. Look for the
icon in the database description.
- Login to RefWorks If you already have an account, this link will let you sign in.
- Download Write-N-Cite
This is what allows RefWorks to connect with your Microsoft Word documents and format citations within your papers. To use Write-N-Cite with RefWorks you must download a small utility program to your computer. There are versions of Write-N-Cite for Windows and Macintosh computers. - Off-Campus Access Instructions Use Write-N-Cite off-campus via your NetID login by doing a one-time configuration.
Preparing Your Dissertation
- SU Graduate School Documents This is the main resource for students needing information on preparing, writing, and defending their thesis or dissertation.
- Steps in the Defense Process [PDF] Overview of the steps required during thesis or dissertation defense.
- Thesis and Dissertation detailed Format Guidelines [PDF] Style guide for writing your thesis or dissertation.
Dissertations & Theses Databases
- Dissertations Abstracts Dissertations Abstracts has full text of doctoral dissertations back to 1997 and sometimes earlier. The database also includes citations and abstracts to over 2.4 million dissertations and masters theses as far back as 1637.
- Dissertations Abstracts @ Syracuse University Dissertations Abstracts limited to just Syracuse University. Full-text back into the 1960s and older full-text being added.
- Scopus Scopus indexes dissertations and theses from institutions around the world that provide open access dissertations and theses repositories. Select the "Web" tab and then limit your results to "Theses".




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait