Other Resources
This page provides a quick and dirty list of authoritative starting points for:
Chemistry Societies
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
- American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
- Alpha Chi Sigma (ΑΧΣ)
- American Institute of Chemists (AIC)
- Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF)
- Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
See also: Associations Unlimited for over 439,000 U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit organizations.
Chemistry Education
- Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates The Special Libraries Association (SLA) Chemistry Division, Ad Hoc Committee on Information Literacy has developed guidelines that identify subject-specific information literacy skills for chemistry undergraduates.
Structure and Property Data
- Bordwell pKa Table (Acidity in DMSO) This page was created by Professor Hans J Reich at the University of Wisconsin-Madison as reference material for organic chemists. It provides equilibrium constants pKa of many organic compounds with pKa values from 0-35 in DMSO.
- BRENDA : Comprehensive Enzyme Information System Over 3500 enzymes are covered, classified according to the Enzyme Commission (E.C.) numbering system. The database gives a representative overview on the characteristics and variability of each enzyme but is not a compendium.
- ChemSpider A free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists with millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
- Genome Biology (NCBI) Genome Biology, from the NCBI, provides several genomic biology tools and resources, including organism-specific pages that include links to many web sites and databases relevant to that species.
- Household Products Database (NLM) What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room? Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling. Links to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).
- InChi Resolver The InChI Resolver provides online access to a series of tools supporting the generation and look-up of InChIStrings and InChIKeys. Convert SMILEs, load or draw chemical structures and convert to InChIStrings and InChIKeys.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook Provides easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
- PubChem PubChem Substance, Compound, and BioAssay are 3 NCBI Entrez linked databases that provide information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
Reaction Databases
- The Chemical Thesaurus reaction chemistry database A reaction chemistry information system that extends traditional references by providing hyperlinks between related information. A particular interaction, reaction or process can either be found by searching for the chemical entities.
Spectra Databases
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds : SDBS SDBS integrated spectral database includes electron impact Mass (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared (FT-IR), 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), 13C NMR, laser Raman, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra.
- SciFinder
SciFinder provides direct links to spectra data licensed from several third-party sources including SDBS (AIST), Bio-Rad/Sadtler, and Wiley. [How To Guide]
Open Access and e-Prints
Unlike other disciplines, little of the chemistry literature is made available prior to publication as e-prints. However, an increasing portion is fully available after publication under Open Access licenses and can be searched with these tools.
- Scirus Scirus is a search engine for scientific content on the web, indexing over 480 million science-specific web pages including scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data, reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, and dissertation
- Google Scholar Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- arXiv.org arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics hosted at Cornell University.
Patent Databases
These databases specialize in searching patent literature and are sources for the full-text of patents.
- SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) Chemical patent records from 9 of the major patent offices worldwide are fully indexed within 27 days of the patents' issuance.
- European Patent Office (esp@cenet) 60 million patents from 85 countries with PDF facsimiles for US (1836 onward), DE (1877 onward), GB (1859 onward), JP (1976 onward), and EP and WO (1978 onward).
- Google Patents (USPT0) Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO, from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. Patents available in PDF format
- U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) patent issues and applications to 1790. Full-text since 1976, full-page images since 1790. Patents display as TIFF image files.
- World Intellectual Property Agency (WIPO) Over 1.4 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978. Download as PDF or XML.
- Canadian Patent Database (CIPO) 75 years of patent descriptions and images with more than 1,900,000 patent documents. PDF page images.



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait