Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library
Admin Sign In 

Chemistry Resources 

A guide to SU Library chemistry resources.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Find Articles

The resources on this page should help you get started finding the primary literature published in scholarly journals and conference publications using authoritative research databases. Most of these databases use SULinksto help you locate a copy of the article in the library's online or print collections. If you are looking for ePrints of article, also check the "Other Resources" page in this guide.

 

Related Databases

There is a complete list of databases at http://library.syr.edu/databases, including a browsable list of Chemistry Databases.

Some good choices are:

See also:

 
 

Best Chemistry Databases

Getting Started? Try Scopus

If you just need article citations from the last ten or so years, Elsevier's Scopus is probably the best place to look. Scopus indexes journal and conference literature, as well as web sources and patents in the sciences, engineering and technology, medicine, and social sciences. It has unambiguous author searching, allows you to save searches and create email and RSS alerts, and links to the full-text of articles. Comprehensive backfile to 1996. RefWorks

 

In-Depth Searching. Use SciFinder

If you need a database with full indexing of chemistry via structure searching, chemical reaction searching, and other chemical property searching, then Chemical Abstract's SciFinder is your best source. SciFinder comprehensively indexes the world's chemistry literature in journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, book reviews and biographical information through its CAPLUS database. SciFinder also includes CASREACT reaction database, REGISTRY database of chemical substance information, and MEDLINE's biomedical database. Comprehensive backfile to 1907; updated daily. RefWorks

Both of these databases have very thorough coverage of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and the physical sciences and both allow you to do citation searching

 

Already Have a Citation?

Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.

 

Citation Databases

Why Use A Citation Database

  • Discover who is citing your research and how your research is influencing newer research
  • Uncover directions in which research is progressing based on an earlier study
  • Track the work of a noted authority
  • Verify the accuracy of a cited reference that has been listed in a bibliography
  • Analyze the impact of published research
  • Keep up to date with what has been published in your field.

Best Citation Databases

  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)  
    SciFinder Scholar provides access to 30 million references in the chemical and biochemical literature, including patents. Comprehensive indexing back to 1907 and citation data for journals beginning in 1999.
  • Scopus (Elsevier)  
    Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records from the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. Comprehensive indexing and citation searching back to 1996.
  • Web of Science (Thompson/Reuters)  
    Web of Science is a citation index to 8700 authoritative, high impact journals covered by Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Backfile data to 1985.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait