Research Guides: Central NY Master of Public Health (CNYMPH): Data

Data Resources

Global Health
The US Department of Health and Human Services publishes this website. Data resources include country information, world health statistics, and fact sheets.
Global Health Data Exchange (Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation)
A comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
United Nations: Statistics Division
This United Nations (UN) website provides basic health data including life expectancy, infant mortality rates and child mortality rates for over 100 countries worldwide.
United Nations: UNdata
UNdata, from the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, provides access to major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations, through a single entry point. Topics include agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade.
United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF)
The main UNICEF website publishes health-related data in the form of country tables. You may also search by indicator.
USAid
USAid is an independent federal government agency that collects and publishes data related to global health, economics, agriculture and trade. Global health topics include child survival, HIV/AIDS, Infectious diseases, nutrition and maternal health, and population. The information on this site is mainly text, with some health data available.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization website publishes health data relating to burden of disease statistics, health personnel, mortality, population and much more. This site also provides excel files of the statistical annex to the World Health Report.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
Tracks regional and country level data of basic health indicators (including health coverage, demographics, and morbidity and mortality), infectious diseases, mortality, and risk factors.
World Bank
The World Bank produces many different publications relating to health and health care. A few of publications include:

CDC WONDER
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention developed CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) to provide open access to public health information gathered by CDC.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
From the US Department of Health and Human Services. Statistics and data on diseases and conditions, health care, lifestyle, vital statistics, injuries and other measures of health. National and state data available.
Child and Family Statistics
Federal statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
County Health Rankings
Program from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, this resource provides a snapshot and rankings for counties in all fifty states on how healthy residents are based on a number of health measures.

The summary document for New York is here.

FedStats
One-stop shopping for data collected by U.S. agencies. Search by topic, region or government agency.
FASTATS: A to Z
Another source of public health statistics from the CDC
Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook 2019-2020 (SU ID required)
Healthcare business and market data are scattered through a myriad of sources. The value of the handbook is that it compiles top-line data into a single easy-to-use reference, with information sourced from over 70 professional organizations, federal health agencies, top market analysts, and news sources. The handbook includes assessments and discussions on topics such as quality and patient safety, electronic health records, patient satisfaction, health plan ratings, Medicare and Medicaid, prescription drug use, top issues confronting hospitals, and more.
Health Services Research Resources (HSRR): Data, Tools, & Statistics
Kids Count Data Center
From the Annie E. Casey Foundation, this resource provides national and state-by-state data and statistical trends on the condition of America's children and families for 2010. The Kids Count Data Book can be downloaded, along with national and state profiles and rankings. It is also possible to customize maps, graphs, and charts.
MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)
Based on weekly reports from state health departments, the MMWR provides timely data on current public health issues.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Statistics and data on diseases and conditions, health care, lifestyle, vital statistics, injuries and other measures of health. National and state data available.
SEER
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) is an authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.
U.S. Census Bureau
Demographic, geographic and economic data.
USDA Economic Research Service
Covers "the economics of food, farming, natural resources, and rural America."
Vital Statistics Online Data Portal
Public use Birth, Period Linked Birth – Infant Death, Birth Cohort Linked Birth – Infant Death, Mortality Multiple Cause, and Fetal Death data files are available for independent research and analyses.

Check out their quarterly journal Amber Waves.

New York State Vital Statistics
Vital statistics (including Population, Live Births, Spontaneous Fetal Deaths, Induced Abortion, Pregnancies, Mortality, and Marriages and Dissolutions of Marriage) at the county and city levels.
HealtheConnections - CNY
HealtheConnections is a not-for-profit corporation that supports the meaningful use of health information exchange and technology adoption, and the use of community health data and best practices, to enable Central New York stakeholders to transform and improve patient care, improve the health of populations and lower health care costs.

Harvard Dataverse Network
The Harvard Dataverse Network maintains over 1,200 health-related data sets. The site is searchable by keyword, title, author and study number. The data codebooks and data sets for most of the studies are freely available for members of the Harvard and MIT communities.
Health and Medical Care Archive
The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) published by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. This data archive collects data published by researchers from academic, public and private sectors. Subjects include Health Care Providers, Access to and Cost of Health Care, Substance Abuse and Health, and Chronic Health Conditions. Some data is available to ICPSR members only (Syracuse University is a member; see ICPSR access below).
China Health and Nutrition Survey (CHNS)
Designed to examine the effects of the health, nutrition, and family planning policies and programs implemented by national and local governments and to see how the social and economic transformation of Chinese society is affecting the health and nutritional status of its population. The impact on nutrition and health behaviors and outcomes is gauged by changes in community organizations and programs as well as by changes in sets of household and individual economic, demographic, and social factors.
Demographic and Health Surveys
DHS assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Demographic and Health Surveys provide national and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Surveys have been conducted in 38 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, 7 countries in North Africa/West Asia/Europe, 4 countries in Central Asia, 10 countries in South and Southeast Asia, and 15 countries in Latin America and the Carribean. Microdata is available free of charge by request. An integrated version of DHS data for 18 countries (Egypt, India, and 16 sub-Saharan countries) is available online at idhsdata.org.

Public Health E-Resources

Government Resources for Public Health

Healthy People 2030
From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the full-text is available at this site. There are also updates.

National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
Conducted by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), this survey assesses and tracks the health and nutrition status of adults and children in the U.S. over time.

Physical Guidelines for Americans
The first-ever physical guidelines for Americans. This resource describes the types and amounts of physical activity that offer health benefits.
National Quality Strategy Annual Reports
Reporting on National Quality Strategy progress occurs in multiple ways. Priorities in Focus pair Quality and Disparities Report data with each of the six National Quality Strategy priorities to offer a “snapshot in time” look at progress. Reports to Congress, prepared annually, offer updates on national, state, and local efforts to implement the Strategy’s priorities to achieve the three aims.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.