On this list...
Use the databases on these lists to locate full-text articles, essays, and data for research and writing projects.
Photojournalism and Image Resources
- Academic Commons Image Project
Searchable list of image resources from the Academic Commons wiki project. - adflip
A searchable archive of classic print advertisements from 1940 to present, covering categories such as automotive, computers, electronics, entertainment, fashion, food and beverage, health and beauty, hobbies, home and hardware, jewelry, music, travel, and photography, among others. - AP Images
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. Access Note: Ten simultaneous users only (though it should be available off campus as long as fewer than 10 SU users are logged in). - ARTstor
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America. - Flickr.com
One of the largest online photo-sharing communities. Provides searchable access to photos from the general public as well as institutional collections in the flickr commons. - Library PressDisplay
Library PressDisplay provides full page image access to over 240 newspapers representing more than 50 countries. Users can search across papers, or view a paper page by page. Coverage includes a rolling 60 day backfile. - Life Magazine Photography Archives hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. - Time.com Photoessays
Archives of TIME magazine photo essays and newly-curated collections of archival images. - Magnum Photos Photo Essays
Online photojournalism from some of the worlds top photographers with global subject matter.
Audio Resources
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search for spoken word recordings, world music, protest music, and more. - News & Public Affairs at the Internet Archive
Alternative independent radio news programming is featured here. In addition to a host of intriguing radio news shows, this collection features the Presidential Recordings collection of historical speeches and secret recordings. - Factiva
Click "simple search" and select All Multimedia for transcribed programming with audio and video clips from a variety of news sources.
NPR.org
National Public Radio has a vast archive of current and past news stories, as well as podcasts and archives of many of its popular programs. - Radio Programs from the Internet Archive
"If you're looking for advice about raising your child, conversations about personal change, a forum for transgender issues, or want to listen to an Old Time Radio show: the Radio Programs collection has something for you." - US Labor and Industrial History Audio Archive
Recordings drawn from numerous audio archives, though most come from -- or are processed at -- the University at Albany. They are organized by topic. - The British Library: Archival Sound Recordings
A variety of audio resources from the British Library. - BBC News Online: On This Day
On This Day features archived video, audio, and text from important events in history, organized by date and theme. Showcases of some of the most significant as well as some of the quirkier stories broadcast by BBC News since 1950 and now including a new World War II section.
Video Collections
- Television News Archive
Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, FoxNews and more than 9,000 hours of special news- related programming including ABC: 1968 - present, CBS: 1968 - present, NBC: 1968 - present, CNN: 1995 - present, FoxNews: 2004 - present. Syracuse University Library is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive. RealMedia or Real Alternative is required to view online video content in this resource. - CBC Archive
This free site features thousands of radio and television clips from the archives of the Canadian Broadcast Corporation, organized by topic and period. - WGBH OpenVault
Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools. - Factiva
Click "simple search" and select All Multimedia for transcribed programming with audio and video clips from a variety of news sources. - The Prelinger Video Archive at Archive.org
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. - CNN Archives
You can easily access archived footage from CNN.com with the following google query: keyword site:archives.cnn.com; for example "gun control" site:archives.cnn.com
- The BBC Motion Gallery
BBC Motion Gallery provides access to clips from video collections including CBS News, BBC News, the Nugus Martin History Collection, and the Huntley Film Archive. This site is geared toward image and footage buyers, but there are helpful clips to be found. - British Pathe
Previews of items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.This site is geared toward image and footage buyers, but there are helpful clips to be found.
Video Search Engines
There are many free video sharing sites online (some familiar, some not) covering a vast array of commercial, user-submitted, and archival video footage.
- YouTube
- Google Video (many longer form pieces available here)
- Vimeo
- Blip.tv
- Dailymotion
- Atom.com (formerly Atom Films)
- Yahoo! Video
- Hulu.com (a commercial venture of Fox & NBC)
Digital Collections from SU's Special Collections Research Center
Many of the treasures of Syracuse University Library's impressive Special Collections Research Center have been made available online. Among the digital collections are:
- Erie Railroad Glass Plate Negative Collection
- Gerrit Smith "Broadside" and Pamphlet Collection
- Marcel Breuer Architectural Drawings and Sketches
- Medieval Manuscripts in the Syracuse University Library
- The Oneida Community Collection
- Ronald G. Becker Collection of Charles Eisenmann Photographs
- Street and Smith Publishers' Archive and Dime Novel Cover Art
Audio Resources from The Belfer Audio Archive
Other Audio Collections
- American Memory Project: Sound Collections Online
- Cornell Ornithology Lab, Macaulay Library
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project (UC Santa Barbara)
- Frontera Collection of Mexican American Music (UCLA)
- History and Politics Out Loud
- Naropa University Audio Archive Project
- The Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound Recordings


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait