This is the "Home" page of the "German Language and Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

German Language and Literature  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/german Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

German Language & Literature at Syracuse University

The Syracuse University German Program is part of the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics in the College of Arts & Sciences.

 

Germanic Languages & Literatures Librarian

Lydia Wasylenko

lwwasyle@syr.edu

315-443-4692

Databases of Interest

  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
    Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Provides access to "one of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century ... [i.e.,] the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (1779–1834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany." Includes 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 1790–1840.
  • Goethes Werke im WWW
    Digital version of the 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition of the collected works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832). Includes every word of Goethe's literary and scientific works, diaries, and letters from the Weimar Edition, as well as illustrations, notes, variant texts, and indexes.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
    A "resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse." Updated annually, " the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements." Includes alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
  • JSTOR
    Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities. Includes coverage of titles such as German Quarterly (1928 -2009), German Studies Review (1978-2009), and Monatshefte (1946-2007).
  • Kafkas Werke im WWW
    Digital version of the critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher.
  • KLGonline
    The KLG (Kritische Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur, or Critical Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Literature) provides bio-bibliographical information on hundreds of writers of post-1945 German literature. Each entry contains a short biography; a list of prizes won; a bibliography of the author's works (including works for theater, film, radio, and multimedia projects, as well as translations); interviews; and a list of secondary sources.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides citations to periodical literature, books, essay collections, working papers, conference proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies, covering publications from around the world from 1926 to the present.
  • ProQuest Literature & Language
    A resource that offers access to multiple databases, including CBCA Complete: Literature & Language, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language, and ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language.
  • SCOLA
    "SCOLA is a non-profit educational organization that provides authentic foreign language resources in more than 175 native languages. SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning material on this website."

Print Resources in the Library

Browsing Books on German Language and Literature by Call Number

 

Although some older books are perhaps classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, most Syracuse University Libraries print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System.

The LC system has allocated Class P to Languages and Literatures.  “P” call numbers are assigned to the Languages and Literatures holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 5th floor of Bird Library.  (Note:  Less frequently used library materials are kept at The Facility, a high-density storage space at 1556 Jamesville Avenue, but can be requested for next-business day delivery to a library on campus.)

To see an outline of the entire "P" Class, open the document below.  Then click on Subclasses "PD," "PF," and/or "PT" for outlines of the classification schemes for Germanic Languages and Literatures.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip