Last Updated: May 28, 2013
The Syracuse University Classics Program is part of the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics in the College of Arts & Sciences.
Browsing Books on Classical Languages and Literatures by Call Number
Although some older books are classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, most of Syracuse University Library’s print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System.
The LC system has allocated Class P to Languages and Literatures. “P” call numbers are assigned to the Languages and Literatures holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 5th floor of Bird Library.
To see an outline of the entire "P" Class, open the document below. Then click on Subclass "PA" for an outline of the classification scheme for Classical Languages and Literatures.
- Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ)
The online edition of BNJ includes the original three parts of Felix Jacoby's "Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker," a collection, with critical commentaries, of fragments of works by 856 Greek historians whose writings have survived in only fragmentary form. In addition to offering fully searchable access to over 12,000 fragments published in the original "Jacoby," BNJ Online contains fragments of works by authors omitted from the original print edition.
- Brill's New Pauly
"The New Pauly is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and ... world history." This is an "online version of: Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, and: Brill’s New Pauly (included as English volumes become available)."
"Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation." Syracuse University Library's subscription includes: Brill's New Jacoby; Brill's New Pauly; Der Neue Pauly; and Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker.
- British Library Digitised Manuscripts
"Contains many different kinds of manuscripts, archives and documents. ... There are more than 600 Greek manuscripts ranging in date from the 9th century to the 18th century ... They include manuscripts from the British Library’s Additional, Harley, Arundel and Royal manuscript collections ... and include some of the highlights of the Library's collections."
- In Principio
"A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D. This includes ancient, patristic, medieval, and humanist literature and covers all genres: theology and liberal arts, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil and canon law, exact and occult sciences, summons and sermons, glossaries and correspondences, cooking recipes and cursing formulas, large and small treatises, even isolated sentences. Updated semi-annually."
- L'Année Philologique on the Internet
Contains citations of scholarly works on classical antiquity published in any language anywhere in the world. Subjects include Greek and Latin literature and linguistics (including early Christian texts and patristics), Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, and science. Coverage begins in the second millennium B. C. E. with pre-classical archaeology and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.).
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
"The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well established critical literature, but is also a highly active field responding to the emergence of new discoveries, interpretations, and theories. In addition to a vast body of scholarship, classical studies has been quick to move online so that today's students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources."
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (on order)
A digital library that contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
- Humanities Full Text
Index with abstracts and some full text of noted scholarly sources and important specialized magazines in the humanities. Subjects addressed include Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion. Coverage dates: indexing, 1984-; abstracting, 1984-; selected full text, 1994-.
A full-text archive of scholarly publications in the arts and the humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics and the natural sciences. Provides coverage of over 50 Classical Studies journals.
- Project Muse
Includes many e-books and full-text coverage of a number of journals in "Ancient History."
- Corpus Glossariorum Latinorum
Originally published 1888-1923. This electronic reproduction is from the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Dizionario di abbreviature latini ed italiani (Cappelli)
Published: Milano, 1912.
- Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis (Du Cange)
"Le Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, initialement publié par Charles du Fresne, sieur du Cange (1610-1688), est un glossaire du latin médiéval, en latin moderne." Published: Niort: L. Favre, 1883-1887.
- Grammatici Latini ex recensione Henrici Keilii
Originally published 1855-1870. This electronic reproduction is from the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid (University of Notre Dame)
"Lynn Nelson produced this wordlist to help students read Medieval Latin. He warns that it is not an exhaustive list, and it is only a list, not a dictionary. The gender and declension of nouns is not provided nor is the conjugation of verbs. It contains fewer than 6000 words. Type in a Latin phrase or word. Press the button (or Enter). Cross your fingers."
- Latin Dictionary of Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short
Available via the Perseus Digital Library.
- Latin in Google Translate
When Google Translate added Latin to its list of languages that can be automatically translated to other languages, the news was announed on the website in a post written in Latin: “Veni, vidi, verba verti” ("I came, I saw, I translated the words").
"No other language has managed to ... interweave itself in the lives and cultures of Western Europe as the Latin language [has]. Its vocabulary, spelling, and sounds are still very much alive in the ... literatures and tongues of various peoples in Europe. ... Latin-Dictionary.org ... [provides] a Latin translation lookup where you can you search Latin dictionaries and have quick access to thousands of Latin terms, Latin phrases, Latin expressions, and Latin words."
- Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus (Niermeyer) (1976)
"Niermeyer's classic, comprehensive, and authoritative dictionary of medieval Latin," available via the Internet Archive.
- Orbis Latinus
J. G. Th. Graesse's compilation of Latin place names (Orbis Latinus: Lexikon lateinischer geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit. Published: Berlin: Richard Carl Schmidt & Co., 1909), available via Columbia University's Electronic Text Service.
Copyright ©2013 Syracuse University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.