Reading Room News
NEW Database Resources
Syracuse Architecture Links
Faculty Publications

Brown, Lori. Feminist Practices. London: Ashgate, 2011. (NA2543.F45 F46 2011)

Bédard, Jean-François. Decorative Games: Ornament, Rhetoric, and Noble Culture in the Work of Gilles Marie Oppenord (1672-1742). Newark, DE: University of Delaware, 2011 (NK1449.Z9 O6633 2011)

Lonsway, Brian. Making Leisure Work: Architecture and the Experience Economy. New York: Routledge, 2009 (NA 2543.R43.L66 2009)
Massey, Jonathan. Crystal and Arabesque: Claude Bragdon, ornament and Modern Architecture. Pittsburgh; University of Pittsburgh Press, 2009 (NA 737.B65. M37 2009)
Syracuse University Library Mobile Website
Syracuse University Library launched its mobile website. Optimized for iPhone, Android, and Blackberry smartphones, the website offers quick, convenient access to core library information sources, including hours, contact information, and locations. No extra application is necessary; simply go to http://m.library.syr.edu/ from your smartphone.
The mobile website allows users to:
• Search the library catalog, WorldCat, JSTOR, and mobile versions of a number of Library databases
• Find the locations of all SU libraries and collections
• Get research help via text message, instant message, email, or phone
• Check library hours
• View floor maps of Bird Library
• Browse the Library staff directory and automatically email or place a call to anyone listed
• View library events
The mobile website will continue to grow and develop based on your feedback. Use the “Give us your feedback” link to convey your ideas and suggestions.
School of Architecture Lecture Series
In the Reading Room, we currently have a rotating display of suggested readings on this semester's guest lecturers. See the linked document for a complete list of books and articles on these featured architects:
Tuesday 1/31 - James and Hayes Slade (Slade Architecture)
Tuesday 2/7 - Shimon Attie
Tuesday 2/14 - Suzanne Tick
Tuesday 2/21 - Hitoshi Abe (Atelier Hitoshi Abe // Chair of UCLA Dept. of Architecture and Urban Design)
Tuesday 3/20 - Calvin Tsao & Zack McKown (Tsao McKown Architects)
Tuesday 3/27 - D. Grahame Shane (Professor, Cooper Union)
Tuesday 4/3 - Alan Berger (Associate Professor, MIT Dept. of Urban Studies and Planning // Director, P-REX)
Thursday 4/5 - Teddy Cruz (Estudio Teddy Cruz // Associate Professor, UCSD)
New Books
Adjaye, David. African Metropolitan Architecture. v.1-7. New York: Rizzoli, 2011.
Reserve - NA9273 .A45 2012
Benes, Mirka and Michael G. Lee, eds. Clio in the Italian Garden: Twenty-First Century Studies in Historical Methods and Theoretical Practices. Washington, D.C.: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 2011.
SB457.85 C59 2011
Bergman, David. Sustainable Design: A Critical Guide. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2012.
NK1520 B48 2012
Bjarke Ingels Group: Projects 2001-2010. Hong Kong: Design Media Publishers, 2011.
NA1211 B52 2011
Burden, Ernest E. Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2012.
Reserve - NA31 .B83 2012
Charlesworth, Esther and Rob Adams. The EcoEdge: Urgent Design Challenges in Building Sustainable Cities. New York: Routledge, 2011.
NA9053 E58 E26 2011
Muir, Prescott. It By Bit. San Rafael, CA: ORO Editions, 2011.
NA737.M76 A4 2011
Pelkonen, Eeva-Liisa. Kevin Roche: Architecture as Environment. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2011.
NA737 R57 P45 2011
Porter, Tom. Will Alsop: The Noise. New York: Routledge, 2011
NA997 A58 P67 2011
Powell, Kenneth. 21st Century London: The New Architecture. New York: Merrell, 2011.
NA970 P69 2011
Shephard, Judy and Retail Design International. Retail Spaces: Small Stores Under 250 m2. New York: RSD Publishers, 2011.
NA6220 .S54 2011
Various Authors. Design Document Series. Seoul, Korea: DAMDI, 2003-2011
On Reserve - Various Call Numbers
Viñoly, Rafael. Rafael Viñoly Architects. New York: Prestel, 2011.
NA737 V56 J64 2011
Contact Info |
Links: Profile & Guides |
SUrface
SURFACE stands for the Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment; in other words, it is an online database of scholarly, professional, and creative output from Syracuse University. Materials available under architecture include articles and other items such as book chapters published by faculty, theses and thesis prep. submissions that have received a grade of B+ or better, as well as other publications and research on a variety of topics.
Featured Article

Henderson, Susan R.
Romerstadt: the modern garden city
Planning Perspectives
Vol. 25, No. 3, July 2010,
pp.323-346
Recent articles- suggested readings
Borg, Amelia and Timothy Moore. “The Act of Disconnection: Just because I do not send a message within a matter of minutes does not mean I am dead.” Volume, v.28, p.148-151
Jarzombek, Mark. “The Metaphysics of Permanence: Curating Critical Impossibilities.” Log, Winter 2011, v.21, p.125-136
Miara, Jim. “Detroit: The New Paradigm.” Urban Land, July/August 2011, v.70, n.5/6, p.75-80.
Rocker, Ingeborg M. “Apropos Parametricism: If, in what style should we build?” Log, Winter 2011, v.21, p.89-100
Zardini, Mirko. “(Against) the Greenwashing of Architecture.” New Geographies, v.2: Landscapes of Energy, p.139-147
Architecture Recent News
- David Byrne: How Architecture Helped Music Evolve (video)As his career grew, David Byrne went from playing CBGB to Carnegie Hall. He asks: Does the venue make the music? From outdoor drumming to Wagnerian operas to arena rock, he explores how context has pushed musical innovation.
- Four Major Buildings by Architect Moshe Safdie to Open During the Fall 2011Four major projects designed by the architect and planner Moshe Safdie—including a performing arts center, a headquarters for a federal institute, and two museums—will be completed and open to the public within the span of two months this fall.
- Journey to the Center of New York: Can Design "Cure" Our Cities?Man-made landscapes: High Line // Delancey Underground
- Dame Zaha HadidZaha Hadid has been awarded the title Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for her services to architecture in the Queen’s building honors announced this weekend.
- The Cloud: MVRDV’s Twin Towers Look Eerily Similar to The World Trade CenterControversy over MVRDV's recent design proposal for a residential complex in Seoul, Korea,
- Video: Building the Golden Gate BridgeCourtesy of the Prelinger Archives, this archival 1930s footage by Bethlehem Steel captures every phase of construction of the Golden Gate Bridge.



Loading...
