Subsections
Library Research Tools
Once you've decided on the type of source to start with (e.g., article, book, web site, etc.), it is time to search for a specific source that best fits your topic. There are several tools that you can use to help you locate information sources at the Syracuse University Library:
- Classic Catalog (SUMMIT) Lists books, journals, maps, sound recordings, microforms, government documents, and other materials in SU Library, Barclay Law Library, Moon Library at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, and MLK Library.
- Discover Discover is a new interface to the catalog and is ideal for searching a broad topic or creating a general list of library resources on a given topic. The "Refine By" options on the left and right panels of the search results make it easy to narrow results. Discover currently contains records from the Classic Catalog and the Digital Library collection.
You can also search Discover using the search box on the Library's home page. - Databases Includes articles, multimedia material, statistics, e-books, and other items on a variety of subjects. Some databases contain the full-text of articles while others contain only citations and/or article abstracts.
- E-journal Locator Links to journals, magazines and other sources that provide full-text material online.
- Subject Guides Research tips and lists of resources compiled by librarians who specialize in various subject areas.



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait