What is GIS
Geographic Information Systems
GIS consists of hardware, software and data working together to display multiple layers of vector, raster, and data files simultaneously to understand and visually solve geographical problems and provide new insights into answering questions about the human and natural world we inhabit.
ESRI news feed
PARDON OUR MESS IN THE MAP ROOM!
We are currently re-arranging the map collections in the map room
If you are in need of a specific map title please let a staff person know.
Esri announces ArcGIS 10.1 is now available. See the news link below.
GIS journal and database sources
Transactions in GIS - Call number G70.212
- Full-Text from Wiley InterScience, 1998 (v.1) - present; Access through SUMMIT record or "E-journal Locator"
- Journal of geographic information and decision analysis - Call number G70.212.J6
- GeoInformatica - Call number G70.212.G473
- F-T from Springer Standard Collection, 1997 (v.1) - present; Access through SUMMIT record or "E-journal Locator"
- GeoWorld - Call number G70.2 .G575
- Journal of geographical systems - Call number G70.212.J68
- F-T through ProQuest and Springer databases, 1999 (v.1) - present
- Cartography and geographic information science - Call number GA101 .A491
- International journal of geographical information science - Call number G70.2.I59
- F-T from Informaworld, 2005 (v.1) - present; Access through SUMMIT record or "E-journal Locator"
Databases - Here are the major databases focused on Geography.
- A to Z GIS : an illustrated dictionary of geographic information systems
Maps Ref, Bird 3rd floor G70.212 .A86 2006
- The ESRI Press dictionary of GIS terminology
Maps Ref, Bird 3rd floor G70.212 .E87 2001
- Encyclopedia of geographic information science
Maps Ref, Bird 3rd floor G70.212 .E53 2008
- The handbook of geographic information science
Bird 3rd floor G70.2 .H356 2008
- Designed maps : a sourcebook for GIS users
Bird 3rd floor GA105.3 .B73 2008
- Managing geographic information systems
Bird 3rd floor G70.2 .O24 2008
- A primer of GIS : fundamental geographic and cartographic concepts
Moon Library ESF G70.212 .H38 2008