Digital Preservation and Nuclear Disaster
Video created by DigitalPreservationEurope(DPE) to explain basic digital preservation concepts using super heros and villans. Great fun! Click here to view in better quality at YouTube.

Loading Video Clip...
Making Books, 1947
1947 film on book production from the Internet Archive. Click here for more viewing options.

Loading Video Clip...
Bookbinders, 1961
This film from the Internet Archive shows the work of bookbinders and the final steps in the process of manufacturing printed books. From the "Americans at Work" series. Has anything changed since 1947?
Click here for more display options.

Loading Video Clip...
Online Resources
Programatic Descriptions and Mission Statements:
- Library of Congress Preservation Directorate
- Digital Preservation at Library of Congress
- National Archives Preservation
- University of Iowa Libraries Preservation Department: PDF document describing all program activities with overview of individual treatment/activity types. U of Iowa Preservation homepage.
Online Preservation Courses:
- Preservation 101: Preservation basics for paper and media collections. Presented by the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
- Preservation Education Curriculum: An expanded version of Preservation 101 for paper and media collections. Presented by the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
- Digital Preservation Management: Online version of the week-long workshop presented by Cornell University.
- Moving Theory into Practice: Online version of the week-long digital imaging workshop presented by Cornell University.
Blogs:
- Preservation & Conservation Administration News (PCAN)
- Conservation Occasional -Occasional thoughts on the conservation of cultural heritage
- Library Preservation
- more coming
Reference and Listservs:
- Conservation Online (CoOL): The mother-site for preservation and conservation information online.
- Conservation DistList: Moderated list for conservation and preservation issues.
- Preservation Administrators Discussion Group: Listserv archive.
- Online Conservation/Preservation Serials: Links to the online archives of numerous preservation and conservation related journals archived at CoOL.
- The Abbey Newsletter: Published by Ellen McCrady from 1975 until 2002. This newsletter chronicles the development of modern preservation thinking like no other.
- Archival Product News: Produced by Archival Products with articles by noted conservation and preservation professionals in academic libraries and private practice.
- Bookbinding and the Conservation of Books: Online dictionary/encyclopedia for bookbinding and the conservation of books. Originally published by the Library of Congress.
- American Institute of Conservation Journal
- American Institute of Conservation News
- Conservation Wikis: Created by the speciality groups at the American Institute of Conservation
- Book and Paper Group
- Terms and Definitions:From the Conservation Needs Assessment Manual at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
- The Book Arts Web:
- Bibliographies: bookbinding manuals and preservation/conservation literature.
- Tutorials: Mostly bookbinding.
- Preservation and Conservation
- The Bonefolder: an e-journal for the bookbinder and book artist
- e-conservation magazine: the free online magazine entirely dedicated to the Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Heritage.
Book Repair and Care and Handling:
- Conservation Book Repair: A training manual created by Artemis BonaDea for the Alaska State Library.
- Manuals: Produced by the Department of Preservation and Conservation at Cornell University Library.
- Repair and Enclosure Treatments Manual: Produced by the Preservation Department at Indiana University.
- Simple Book Repair Manual: Produced by the Preservation Department at Dartmouth University.
- Three Basic Book Repair Procedures: By Carole Dyal and Pete Merrill-Oldham. Includes sections on hinge tighteninig, tipping-in loose pages, and other references.
- Collection Care Videos: Videos created by the British Library to encourage the careful use of collection items and ensure their long-term preservation. As these were designed to be viewed in the reading room they have no sound. From the British Library's Collection Care program.
- See also their collection of useful links.
- Gaylord Brothers Preservation Tips. Also includes links to:
Other Media:
- The Graphics Atlas: Graphics Atlas is a new online resource that brings sophisticated print identification and characteristic exploration tools to archivists, curators, historians, collectors, conservators, educators, and the general public. The Image Permanence Institute at the Rochester Institute of Technology began initial development of this resource in 2006.
- A Race Against Time: Preserving Our Audiovisual Media Video Series: The series is produced by the Conservation Center for Art and Historical Artifacts (CCAHA).
Historic Bindings:
- Bookbinding Models: From the University of Iowa Libraries.
- Historic Endbands: Site in Spanish but with great visuals.
Book Arts and Conservation |
Peter D. VerheyenContact Info:
Peter D. Verheyen
Head of Preservation and Conservation
Syracuse University Library
Syracuse, NY 13244
315.443.9756
Send Email
Subjects:
Bookbinding, book arts, artist's books, book and paper conservation, preservation
Peter D. Verheyen
Head of Preservation and Conservation
Syracuse University Library
Syracuse, NY 13244
315.443.9756
Send Email
Subjects:
Bookbinding, book arts, artist's books, book and paper conservation, preservation


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait